Pics of Repair!! Gunite guys forgot to shoot skimmers.

cword

LifeTime Supporter
Mar 26, 2008
The shell to my pool was shot last week and one of the skimmer frames did not get filled with gunite. I am an owner builder so I am ultimately responsible. I noticed it was not done and told the guys at 2 different times and they said they would get it, but I guess they forgot, and by the third time I reminded them I guess it was too late because all they did was pour 2 bucket fulls of gunite into the hole and leave. I have talked to 2 different people that are in the business about this and they say it is a serious mistake and there is no good fix for it as it will be a source of leaks. To make matters worse the guy that owns the company that did the work had heart surgery the day after and I cannot talk to him for at least another week. I don't know if I should go ahead and be doing something about this or just let it sit until he can get back to work, but I don't know when that will be. Can anyone on here help me with this? I really just don't know what to do. Thanks for your help.

Did the interior wall and bond beam area get filled and they just forgot to fill the back/bottom of the skimmer around the plumbing? If so I think you may be alright. The concrete itself is very porous and will leak water visibly from the outside when it rains. Your actual waterproofing comes from your final plaster job.

If all they forgot was to fill the area behind/under the skimmer you can probably just fill that in after with concrete. It should really just be there for support. Did they fill all the area on the front side of the skimmer and bond beam that was reinforced with rebar? The rebar/concrete combination is really where you get your strength, not either working alone. Maybe post a couple pics.