pool being closed tomorrow by pool company...

From an email with him:

Our closing package is $325.00. We will lower the water level, blow out lines and equiptment, remove drain plugs,put antifreeze in skimmer lines, and chemicals and put on the winter cove.

----------------------------------------

This pool service has serviced this pool for the original owners of this house for the last 6 years since the pool was installed....

i save some $ by doing all the chem work before they come and purchase the antifreeze myself and my vill is $225 then. Would be less but they come 100 miles one way and do 3 others in town so they split out the milaege cost. I thought about doing it myself and I know I could, but I do it for time as I am so busy at work and they do a good job. Plus I ask them questions and seem to always learn something when they come

I've never closed a pool before, as this is my first year owning one....

so I figured I'd rather just let the people who have been doing it handle it...

rather spend $325 and have it done right, than to do it myself, do something wrong or incomplete, and wind up paying thousands in repairs...

GuinnessPhish said:
pool is closed with a mesh cover.

The guy told me I should dump about two gallons of bleach in to the pool about once a month, and to dump it right through the mesh cover. He said it wouldn't damage or discolor the mesh cover.

Any thoughts?

Sorry, but I totally disagree with this.
Pouring bleach through the cover WILL discolor it, unless you immediately flush it thoroughly with a hose. Also, because it's heavier than water, the bleach will just sink to the bottom of the pool and not circulate.
Unless the temps in your area are consistently above 60 degrees F. algae will not be a problem.
In the spring, if you want to help, put a couple of gallons of bleach, spread around the pool, and immediately flushed with water, a few days before the pool is opened.

Qwaxalot said:
GuinnessPhish said: