Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: GFCI circuit breaker replacement

1. Back To Top    #1

GFCI circuit breaker replacement

Hi all,

Both the property and pool inspectors reported a non-working GFCI breaker for the pool light. Rather than pay the quoted $300 for the pool guy to fix it, I figure with TFP's help, I can tackle this! Computer geek by trade and second time homeowner, so I have some experience replacing indoor switches and receptacles.

The pool has a dedicated subpanel, with one GFCI breaker labeled "light." The light itself is supposedly 500watts. I'll probably want to replace/update this later on with something more efficient...

Seems straightforward enough, but just hoping for validation that I've got this right.
    1) Cut power at the main panel
    2) Remove the bolt at the bottom of the subpanel
    3) Remove the old 15-Amp GFCI breaker, detaching the ground wire
    4) Bring it to Home Depot and purchase a $40 replacement of the same type/size/amps
    5) Clean off the old grounding location with some sandpaper
    6) Attach the new ground wire and fasten the new breaker
    7) Close up the subpanel, turn on the main, turn on the light
    8) Press the button to confirm it trips the circuit

Does it seem odd that the light is controlled solely by a breaker and not a separate switch?

Thanks!
    Ed
    Attached Images Attached Images
    19k gal IG gunite w/ spa, Sta-Rite IntelliPro VS, Sta-Rite System:3, Polaris 3900 Sport w/booster pump, Heliocol, EasyTouch4

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: GFCI circuit breaker replacement

Sounds about right. But, its not a ground wire you detach, its a neutral. Both the black wire and the white wire (neutral) from the light get connected to the breaker. The white "curly cue" wire on the breaker gets connected to the neutral bus.