Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: cell Only generates in Service mode

  1. Back To Top    #1

    cell Only generates in Service mode

    My cell started to only generate in service mode. Swapped cells , same issue. All lights work. Panel in house works but when I switch it to Auto mode , The low flow light will come on for a sec ( usually stays on for ~30 SECONDS) Then no generator light. In service mode in comes on and all is good.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    What's the temp of the water?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    84 degrees. Salt is at 3600 ppm no alarm lights on panel . It should be just fine. It just wont generate in Auto mode .

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    Have you tried jumping out the flow switch?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    all ive tried is swapping cells, And switching to service Service works great,but i want it to work on auto in the house.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    Also I have no idea how to do what you suggested..lol

  7. Back To Top    #7
    UnderWaterVanya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,589

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    Have you tried jumping out the flow switch?
    Is that normally open or closed?




    - Sent using Tapatalk
    Inlaws Pool Boy since June 14th 2012, Pool built ~ 2003, In-Ground, 16'x32'
    13500 gal, Vinyl Liner, Fiberglass Slide, TF-100 Test Kit, Hayward 210T
    sand filter, A.O. Smith 1.5HP main pump motor (C48L2N134C1),
    Hayward SuperPump (model ?), Polaris 380 & PB4 Booster Pump

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    The flow switvch is normally open and closes under flow.

    What swg do you have?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9
    UnderWaterVanya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,589

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    [quote=Bama Rambler]Have you tried jumping out the flow switch?
    Quote Originally Posted by swooperdave
    Also I have no idea how to do what you suggested..lol
    Quote Originally Posted by "Bama Rambler":3bygpger
    The flow switvch is normally open and closes under flow.
    [/quote:3bygpger] Based on Bama's reply to my question I think you would simply find the flow switch and jumper from one side of it to the other causing it to electrically seem as though you had flow. You should verify it is Normally Open and Closed when flow is present first, and part of the way to do that is to answer his question below:

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    What swg do you have?
    All of this is just for the purpose of verifying if the flow switch is indeed the problem - if not then you would want to remove any jumper you add for testing.
    Inlaws Pool Boy since June 14th 2012, Pool built ~ 2003, In-Ground, 16'x32'
    13500 gal, Vinyl Liner, Fiberglass Slide, TF-100 Test Kit, Hayward 210T
    sand filter, A.O. Smith 1.5HP main pump motor (C48L2N134C1),
    Hayward SuperPump (model ?), Polaris 380 & PB4 Booster Pump

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    Try disconnecting the comm wire between the generator and the automation. It is a four wire connection, usually connected to a bus that you can just unplug at either end. My guess is that the automation is telling the generator not to come on, perhaps it is turned down, and when you switch to service, the automation gives control back to the generator, and starts to work.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    phipsi1237's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    North Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    228

    Re: cell Only generates in Service mode

    Are the flow rates the same in auto and service? Also, for my cell to come on, I have to have it in pool or spa mode. This is on my easytouch 8.
    14.5K gal Plaster IGP, Intelliflo VS, EasyTouch 8, SWG, IntellipH, Clear and Clean 420 Cartridge Filter, Attached Spa, H400IDL2 NG Heater

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •