Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Barrie, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    28

    Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    It is my first year closing my in ground pool, we bought the house and the pool is 10 yrs old.
    And I got a company in to close it, a respectable company in the community.
    I got the same company the old owners had closing/opening the pool for years.

    However when they close pools, they dot use antifreeze in the lines, they just blow the lines out.

    Has anyone heard of this?
    Size - 50,000 Litres / 13,208 g (32' x 16' x 4.5' Sport Pool)
    Filter - Jandy CL460 Cartridge Filter
    Salt Water - Zodiak LM2
    Pump - Jacuzzi Magnum Force
    Heater - Laars LT LT250NS-C
    IG Pool (Vinyl)
    2003-2005 ish

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    Antifreeze is a backup in case the line leaks or a low spot in the lines keeps you from getting all the water out.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT
    Antifreeze is a backup in case the line leaks or a low spot in the lines keeps you from getting all the water out.
    Agree, but if the water is stuck in a low spot, wouldn't it be below the freeze line in most cases?
    TF-100 Test kit, 24,000 gal. free form Vinyl. mybluepool AC-600 SWG, STA-RITE S7MD60 DE filter, 3/4 HP STA-RITE MPRA6D pump, Polaris 280 w/booster, Raypack Propane heater, Looplock mesh cover; All located in New England.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    Quote Originally Posted by run53
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT
    Antifreeze is a backup in case the line leaks or a low spot in the lines keeps you from getting all the water out.
    Agree, but if the water is stuck in a low spot, wouldn't it be below the freeze line in most cases?
    Not around here. The deepest I've seen it freeze here is 21", but none of my lines are much more than a foot to a foot and a half deep except the drain. In northern areas the ground probably freezes below the pipes every winter.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT
    Quote Originally Posted by run53
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnT
    Antifreeze is a backup in case the line leaks or a low spot in the lines keeps you from getting all the water out.
    Agree, but if the water is stuck in a low spot, wouldn't it be below the freeze line in most cases?
    Not around here. The deepest I've seen it freeze here is 21", but none of my lines are much more than a foot to a foot and a half deep except the drain. In northern areas the ground probably freezes below the pipes every winter.

    OK...I'm in NE and the low spots of all my lines are at least 36-40" below ground.
    TF-100 Test kit, 24,000 gal. free form Vinyl. mybluepool AC-600 SWG, STA-RITE S7MD60 DE filter, 3/4 HP STA-RITE MPRA6D pump, Polaris 280 w/booster, Raypack Propane heater, Looplock mesh cover; All located in New England.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Oakton,Va
    Posts
    39

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    I was wondering the same thing - I live in the Washington DC area, do I need antifreeze or just blow out all the lines?
    35000 gallon inground, 2hp Whisperflo, Pentair FNS Plus, Polaris 380

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,339

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    The antifreeze is kind of a belt and suspenders approach. Obviously if you can blow all the water out of the line, and keep it out, it doesn't need antifreeze. Depending on your certainty of being able to do that determines whether you should use antifreeze or not. So if you're not absolutely sure you can get the water out of the line to a point below the frost line, then adding antifreeze is a insurance.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry
    Qwaxalot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    439

    Re: Do you really need antifreeze in the lines?

    We use the anti-freeze as an indicator. As we blow out the lines, the presence of anti-freeze at the returns indicates that the lines have been evacuated. Any anti-freeze still in there is just insurance
    In the industry, CSP (Certified Service Professional) by the NSPI and it's successor the APSP. My company services over 600 pools every year. I think the practices regularly espoused on this forum (especially the BBB method) are outstanding; however my comments will be often oriented towards the goal of getting it done, and getting it done right now!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •