Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and off?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Atlanta Ga
    Posts
    309

    Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and off?

    I have a pool pump in the back yard, behind the pool. I have to walk outside to turn it on and off. I can also turn it on and off using the circuit breaker inside the house as a switch. Is there any problem with using the circuit breaker in that way?
    36 x 18 oval pool, inground, plaster pool.
    27000 gallons
    1 hp pump. Sand filter
    Pool built in 1971.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland
    Posts
    296

    Re: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and

    not really what a circuit breaker is designed for, it may cause premature ageing, but otherwise it is the exact same thing as switching it off and on at another point. Could you not put a timer onto the socket instead?

    Regards
    Stuart
    Stuart Murray
    Scotland UK
    UK NPPOC

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Atlanta Ga
    Posts
    309

    Re: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and

    Could you not put a timer onto the socket instead?
    No socket. It is 220 that runs from a cord in a box directly to the bump.
    36 x 18 oval pool, inground, plaster pool.
    27000 gallons
    1 hp pump. Sand filter
    Pool built in 1971.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and

    So how do you turn it off outside if there is no switch by the pump?

    You could just add a timer or switch right by the breaker panel inside.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland
    Posts
    296

    Re: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and

    Jason pipped me at the post, I would in this circumstance isolate the circuit and add a switch after the circuit breaker.

    Regards
    Stuart
    Stuart Murray
    Scotland UK
    UK NPPOC

  6. Back To Top    #6
    cramar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sault Ontario
    Posts
    1,143

    Re: Is it OK to use the circuit breaker to turn pump on and

    Dittos for Stuamarr, you shouldn't be flipping the breaker to turn the pump on/or, eventually the thing will fail and possibly start burning/melting, I've seen (and smelt) this very thing happen.
    20' X 54" Sharkline Matrix Resin AGP, 9400 Gallons, Sta-Rite 1 HP Dynamo Pump, 150 lb Pentair Sand Filter, Gorilla Pad,
    Foam Cove, Taylor K-2006 kit, BBB method, 8'X20' Fafco Sunsaver Hard Plumb, DIY Fountain, Margarittaville Fiji


    My Build: one-man-one-pool-and-one-deck-agp-pics-t37172.html
    My Build 'To-Do' List for other DIY'ers: my-pool-build-list-t40249.html?hilit=list

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •