Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    We will be finalizing our contract this week for a new pool build starting in February. 17x31 shotcrete pool with spa that spills into pool, intellifo pump, IC40 SWCG, planters with landscape lighting, mastertemp 400K propane heater, and intellibrites. I want an automation system so my wife or others can easily operate the equipment by simply pressing a button or through an iPhone, iTouch, or iPad or other mobile device. Future expansion plans probably include solar heating and possibly a heat pump to extend the swim season on either end.

    Would it be better to get an easytouch system or an intellitouch system?
    13,500 IG plaster, 4 person spillover spa, Intellipro pump, IC40 SWCG, EasyTouch4, Pentair CC150 cartridge filter, LED lights, TF100 testkit.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK (Tulsa)
    Posts
    276

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    I looked at both systems for our pool, just installed at the beginning of this year. Either automation system will work well for you.

    We opted for the Easytouch-8 system, primarily because of its lower cost. And, it provides the added option of controlling it directly from the outside panel, whereas the Intellitouch has no direct control outside. The Intellitouch must be controlled from either a wired or wireless controller.

    For either the Easytouch or Intellitouch systems, iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch control can be obtained via the optional Screenlogic module.

    For our Easytouch, I opted to go with the Screenlogic option plus the Wireless Connection Kit, which eliminates the need to run a cable between the outdoor panel and our wireless router.
    16 x 31, Approx. 12,000 Gal Freeform IG pool; Flagstone coping; Quartzscapes Super Blue plaster finish; Tanning ledge w/2 bubblers; 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair sand filter; (2) Pentair Intellibrite LEDs w/controller; Easytouch8 w/IC-40 SWG; Salt finish concrete decking.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    We ended up going with an Easytouch 8, along with the IC60 SWCG. It's great and more than enough automation for our needs. We have a wired control panel in our kitchen which allows us to control all pool functions from the inside. I do like the fact that I can also control the system completely from the pool pad using the Easytouch's control panel. On an Intellitouch, there is no LCD menu to provide info regarding the system run state. In addition, I liked the fact that you can purchase an Easytouch with an included Intellichlor, which simplified the purchase and install. The only major thing missing on the Easytouch vs. Intellitouch that I can garner is the former lack's "macro" control. These macros allow you to program a single button to activate multiple circuits (e.g. push one button to turn on the spa, activate the waterfall pump and turn on pool lights). I really don't need this though because of the remote panel. Also, I've interfaced the unit with an Autelis PoolControl that controls the major functions via the web. So, I can activate these things from my Android phone, which is pretty cool! The Autelis also allows for communications between my home automation system (which handles all of the lighting controls in the house and back yard, except our Intellibrites which are controlled by the Easytouch).

    The Intellitouch is also a nice system and is offered for much more elaborate automation. I just didn't see the need as our home already has a dedicated home automation system that can talk to our Easytouch as described.
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    Thank you for your responses. You both pointed out something I clearly missed during all my research that intellitouch has no user interface on the panel. This made the decision very simple. I do believe I will be going with the easytouch 8 to allow for possible future expansion.
    13,500 IG plaster, 4 person spillover spa, Intellipro pump, IC40 SWCG, EasyTouch4, Pentair CC150 cartridge filter, LED lights, TF100 testkit.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    406

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    The only big difference is you can not create Macros with an easytouch. That is the beauty of the Intellitouch.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    I have the IntelliTouch and use macros to do more complicated things such as switching a valve for my pool cleaner in addition to setting a lower flow rate. It also ensures that no higher flow rate settings are on when that cleaner comes on because otherwise the highest flow rate request wins.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    Actually, I set up my Easytouch to switch the cleaner valve (valve B) over when in Master Cleaner mode. This also sets the proper pump speed. I'm not sure if it overrides the speed setting if it was previously in a higher speed mode. In any event, it works fine and I don't need macros for this kind of stuff. I can see macros being useful for some things like setting up a "party mode" where a single button turns everything on, including the landscape lighting, etc. But, my home automation handles this stuff.
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    342

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    For a smaller saltwater pool without a spa or water features...except for basic lighting, bubblers, heater and pump, what are the benefits of the automation module?

    I've heard it helps for managing saltwater in finer increments. Is this true?

    The cost between EasyTouch 4, 8 and IntelliTouch, screenlogic can add up quickly ($4500+).

    Trying to understand what is needed vs. worthwhile as we spec out first pool. Thanks.
    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Riverside California
    Posts
    412

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    I think the EasyTouch 8 with ScreenLogic would be a great choice. One change I might suggest is to go with a Raypak heater instead of the Pentair. From what I have read on these forums, Raypak seems to be the preferred heater brand by far.
    38000 Gal, IG, Plaster, 20' x 40' x 10', Attached Raised Spa, Intelliflo VS 3 HP (011018), Pentair Quad DE 60 Filter, Raypak (Rheem) 400,000 BTU (407a low Nox), Easy Touch 8 upgrade, Screenlogic 2 with wireless, IS-4 Spa Side Remote, Stenner 45MPHP10 w/15 gal tank, Intellibrite 5g (3), Dolphin Triton Plus robot with PRO remote, Water Tech Catfish handheld vacuum for spa, TF100 with SpeedStir.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    342

    Re: Easytouch or Intellitouch?

    Thanks Gary. Might you know the specific Pentair PNs of the units needed? For example, is it just the EasyTouch 8 + screenlogic2? Or is the EasyTouch wireless function control panel PN 520547 also required in between to connect to home wi-fi?
    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •