not sure what is happening here

Apr 19, 2012
When i run my pool without my polaris65 it will accumulate fine algae or pollen on the bottom even after manually vacuuming to waste the next day with pump running stuff is back on the bottom. When i turn the pool off and not run it over night then there is no accumulation on the bottom, none whatsoever. Then i turn the pool on and within 3 hours or so there is Crud on the bottom again. I have repeatedly vacuumed to waste. This seems like a filter issue. It is a 200 lb sand filter with a dual speed aqua tools 1.5 hp pump. Any insight on what the corn is going on here would be appreciated.

Again, this does not happen when the filter and pump are off. Only happens when it is running.

I have always done the bbb method even before reading it on here. I was an nspi tech back in the 90's.

3.5 fc
.1. Tc
7.6 ph
35 cya
160 ch
120 ta

'd be looking at your filter. The normal flow rates put a 300lb filter at its high end with a 1HP pump. I'd think a typical 200lb filter would be over-supplied by a significant amount by your pump on high.

I see. Back in the day i do not remember much about dual speed motors on the pumps. I assume this is a post 90's development? Back then as long as the pump did not cause channelization and filter pressure was good it was good to go. The single speed 1.5 hp pumps were commonly paired with 200 lb sand filters back then. I will say this, when i bought my pool, the pump had a label on it indicating 2.25 hp, but i noticed it was not original to the motor so i tore it off and that is where i saw it was actually 1.5 hp. The store i bought it from added the label with the higher hp indication. I was initially inclined to believe the 2.25 hp was for hi speed and the 1.5 hp was lo, but when i have it on lo i have zero filter pressure so that cannot be it. Lo is only good for vacuuming in my opinion. When on high it comes up where i expect to around 13 psi.