Cloudy Pool can't resolve

Apr 10, 2011
I have been using the BBB method for about 3 years. I haven't had a problem in over a year as far as I recall. I have an Intex 24' by 52'' vinyl above ground with Cartridge filter B. I had to mow my grass an excessive number of times 2-3 weeks ago due to lots of rain. Even though I mowed away from the pool, the wind blew a lot of fine particles in there. The bottom of the pool collected a good bit of brownish junk. It looked like dead grass to me. I started running the pump 24-7 two weeks ago. I even shocked it to just make sure. My k2006 test results from the early pm from today were as follows, but they have been pretty consistent for 2 weeks.

FC = 3.5, CC = 0, Alk = 70, pH = 7.6, CYA = 30. I use the poolcalculator daily and it calls for 28 oz of 6% bleach to raise FC by 1. I usually just add 60 oz to raise it to 5.5 - which is a tad higher than recommended for that FC to CYA ratio; however, this has worked all summer and my pool has been perfect since mid March. Now even with vacuuming and changing filters/cleaning them, I can't get it to clear up. Any ideas. It just looks cloudy and like there is a white film on the bottom. I never get CC when I test. I don't know if I do have something that I am fighting in pool or not. When I did an OCT 2 weeks back, it was the same then. (Having used the bleach method for 3 years, I wonder when the salt formed will start to make an effect in water appearance.)

I would like to get the pool cleared up for another weekend swim prior to closing for the year.

oh. BTW. when closing, should I even bother with a closing kit like I have used the past 2 years or simply get chemicals balanced and shock with bleach? What is the recommended closing FC levels for my pool or is it the same rules as always?

Thanks for any help. I am trying to learn from all this.

ddavis1975

1st off, congrats on being a 3yr. BBB'er.
That's awesome!! :goodjob:
It definitely does work, that's for sure.