Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    As some of you might remember, my condo complex had FC of 38 and CYA > 200 (leslies tested the water and said it was fine @ 45 CYA and 5+ FC).

    I mentioned to the person maintaining the pool that pH could not be measured if FC is high. She said she adds a reagent that deactivates the chlorine in the sample so she can measure pH. Is this possible?
    17,800 gallon, IG pool, 595 sq feet (17x35x4.5 avg rectangle), Hayward 525 cartridge filter, diamondbrite, 2 hp 2 speed hayward tristar filter, Stenner 45mhp10 automatically chlorinating

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    Here is a link that might help you out, high-fc-ph-measurement-options-t52335.html
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    The problem is the "stuff" (most likely sodium thiosulfate) that's added to reduce the FC, changes the pH of the sample so the test isn't accurate any more.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    The problem is the "stuff" (most likely sodium thiosulfate) that's added to reduce the FC, changes the pH of the sample so the test isn't accurate any more.
    Yeah it was sodium thiosulfate

    Here is what wikipedia says:

    In pH testing of bleach substances. The universal indicator and any other liquid pH indicators are destroyed by bleach, rendering them useless for testing the pH. If one first adds sodium thiosulfate to such solutions, it will neutralize the color-removing effects of bleach and allow one to test the pH of bleach solutions with liquid indicators. The relevant reaction is akin to the iodine reaction: thiosulfate reduces the hypochlorite (active ingredient in bleach) and in so doing becomes oxidized to sulfate. The complete reaction is:
    4 NaClO + Na2S2O3 + 2 NaOH ? 4 NaCl + 2 Na2SO4 + H2O

    So the sodium thiosulfate will make a test read more acidic right?
    17,800 gallon, IG pool, 595 sq feet (17x35x4.5 avg rectangle), Hayward 525 cartridge filter, diamondbrite, 2 hp 2 speed hayward tristar filter, Stenner 45mhp10 automatically chlorinating

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    Adding sodium thiosulfate will raise the PH when chlorine is present. However, you have no useful way of knowing how much it will raise the PH, so this isn't a useful approach.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6
    UnderWaterVanya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mint Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,589

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    Chem geek has said in another thread that you can dilute the water with distilled water (make sure it's distilled) which has 0 TA and it will allow you to lower FC without impact to the pH. Another option is to simply take the test FAST and hope for the best - the conversion to chlorphenol red isn't instant but it is quick. This is only really needed in situations like this where the FC has to be high due to high CYA - when shocking the FC levels are high and due to the bleach (per Chem geek) the pH is also elevated and you should not try to adjust it at that point because as the FC is consumed it will fall back to normal.

    Again - in this case - HIGH CYA - there is a reason to do this.
    Inlaws Pool Boy since June 14th 2012, Pool built ~ 2003, In-Ground, 16'x32'
    13500 gal, Vinyl Liner, Fiberglass Slide, TF-100 Test Kit, Hayward 210T
    sand filter, A.O. Smith 1.5HP main pump motor (C48L2N134C1),
    Hayward SuperPump (model ?), Polaris 380 & PB4 Booster Pump

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    X-PertPool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Exeter, PA
    Posts
    1,385

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    what about running some water through a brita filter? Does the filter affect the pH, because I know it will reduce the chlorine
    -Kevin
    X-Pert Pool Service
    x-pertpool.com
    X-Pert Pool on Facebook and @XPertPoolServic on Twitter
    22,000 gal / 16' x 32' / Vinyl / Hayward s244t /Pentair SuperFlo 1 hp

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Can you "remove" fc so the pH test is accurate?

    Yes, activated carbon filters affect the pH, if for no other reason that the removal of hypochlorous acid is an acidic process:

    C* + HOCl ---> C*O + H+ + Cl-
    Activated Carbon + Hypochlorous Acid ---> Oxidized Carbon + Hydrogen Ion + Chloride Ion

    In theory, one can calculate the original pH if one knows the original FC and the final pH, but there may be other pH effects with activated carbon beyond what is shown above.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •