Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: backwash but pressure didn't change

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    backwash but pressure didn't change

    I just backwashed my filter and after doing it the pressure is the same before I did it. The previous owner said it should be around 15 psi when clean and 20 when dirty, it is 21 right now.

    History: The PO showed me how to backwash nearly two weeks ago and I'm sure I'm doing it right, but I don't know if he add D.E. after he showed this to me.

    Not sure where to go here.

    Thanks for any help.
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Does the gauge go to zero when the pump is off?

    You must add DE after backwashing. What color was the water in the backwash?

    If it was run for a while with no DE, that could have clogged the grids and require you to take the filter apart and thoroughly clean them.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Yes the gauge goes to zero.

    The water in the backwash seem clear with the occasional bits of black crud.
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Was the water ever white when you started backwashing? If not, I think there was no DE in it and your grids are clogged and you need a deep cleaning.

    Here is some good reading:
    use-and-care-for-de-filters-t4086.html
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Looks like I'm going to be doing that on Thursday.

    I notice that there is no rinse setting on my multi-function switch. Could it be labeled as something else?
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    What do you have? "Clean" maybe?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    No clean, maybe it's "filter to waste"
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Hmmm ... that could be it ... I was not familiar with that statement.
    What are all the settings you have?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Filter and Vacuum to pool
    Drain and vacuum to waste
    Close
    Winterize
    Backwash
    To remove handle
    auxiliary circulation
    filter to waste
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Can you add more details about your filter to your signature? I want to look up that multivalve ... some of those phrases are foreign to me. Not sure how Close and Winterize are different, but I this is how I interpret the settings:

    Filter = Filter and Vacuum to pool
    Waste = Drain and vacuum to waste
    Close
    Winterize
    Backwash = Backwash
    To remove handle
    Recirculate = auxiliary circulation
    Clean/Rinse = filter to waste
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    That's pretty much what I thought they'd be, I just don't like to take those leaps on something I've never done.

    I'll get some more info on the filter and valve when I can see it a little better.

    Thanks for all the help.
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    653

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle
    Can you add more details about your filter to your signature? I want to look up that multivalve ... some of those phrases are foreign to me. Not sure how Close and Winterize are different,
    I have a "Winterize" on mine--it's just halfway between two 'real' positions so that the diverter is locked up out of contact with the valve body. So nothing is closed, as opposed to 'Closed', where everything is closed.
    Current: 28,000G 18'x36' I/G AnthonySylvan Plaster; Waterway 60 sq.ft. DE Filter; 1.0hp x 1.65 SF Two-Speed (B2982) WhisperFlo; 2004-Present
    Previous: 40,000G 20'x40' I/G Koven unlined WWII salvage 5/8" marine steel; Lomart Stainless Sand Filter; 3/4hp Hayward SuperPump; 1946-2003 (managed by me from about 1964)
    Ancient Taylor K-2000, upgraded with Taylor CH, TA, and FAS-DPD, and TFT CYA tests.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    I've updated my signature with the model of filter that I have.

    Tonight I ran the filter in "Clean" for a minute and then drained and took the filter apart. The filter really looked a mess, clumps of blue goo all over it along with sand and just garbage. Looks like the filter was clean and it move all the garbage to the edges.

    I hosed it off really well and cleaned out the inside of the filter. Looks pretty good. Couldn't find any Magic Lube or anything that I was 100% sure would work well for a seal lube. Is there something else I can use that I might find a Lowe's or Home Depot? I would thing the 100% silicone would work but I don't want to be guessing here.

    Thanks for any help
    Attached Images Attached Images
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    Review the link I sent you. Might be a good idea to do the soak soak and then the acid soak to be sure they are nice and clean.

    You need a non-petroleum based o-ring/gasket lube. A pool store certainly has some and I am sure you can find something at the hardware stores.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Herndon, Va
    Posts
    65

    Re: backwash but pressure didn't change

    I've gotten it pretty clean. I'm going to let the super clean job like the one in the article go for now as I will do that at the end of this season so I can be ready to go next. Right now I don't have something I can put all the filters into and with just moving in I don't have lots of time.
    ____________________________________________________________ _____
    IG 25,000 gallon concrete painted pool,
    KDI American Products Model# 583090 Titan SS Vertical Grid 48sq ft DE filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •