Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Safety Cover Cost

1. Back To Top    #1

Safety Cover Cost

I received a quote for a new safety cover from Raynor for $4,229 for their basic safety mesh cover. The quote is for a 28 X 40 free-form cover. Does this seem in line?

Background,
    This is my first year with a pool. Apparently a few deer fall through it a few years back. I knew about the need for a new cover when we bought the house, but wasn’t expecting it to be quite this expensive.
    25k gallon, IG gunite, Plaster/Pebblesheen (new in August of 2014), Sta-Rite 300lbs sand filter, TF100 Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Safety Cover Cost

My 20X36 Grecian Loop-Loc mesh was $1200 seven years ago. I installed it myself.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

3. Back To Top    #3

MT, do you still have the old cover, and was it one guaranteed for life? It's possible to send them back to mfg for repair, as I understand it.
    In ground extended Grecian, 22,000 gal, Hayward 220t sand filter, vinyl liner, dolphin m4 supreme.
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!
    Helpful Links:
    GET A TEST KIT Chlorine/CYA Chart How to SLAM About Metals & Stains

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by Swampwoman
    MT, do you still have the old cover, and was it one guaranteed for life? It's possible to send them back to mfg for repair, as I understand it.
    Raynor evaluated it for repair, but it was in pretty old and worn looking to begin with and I don't doubt it was too rotten to repair. Raynor has the cover. I sent it to them so they could use it as a template to make an exact duplicate. I want to reuse the existing anchor locations so I don't have any more holes in the concrete pool deck.

I'm just looking to see if their bid is within reason.