Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    Hello,
    I'm having trouble with my Pentair IC40 SWG. I've been searching the topics, but can't quite find solutions to my problem.

    Here goes....
    My SWG cell has a mfg date of 5/2011. I just cleaned it with acid solution, and had barely any buildup (almost no bubbles).

    My chemistry is as follows (as measured using the tf-100 test kit):
    FC 1.5 (adding bleach now a couple times a week)
    TA 80
    pH 76
    CYA 50
    Salt 3600 (measure by pool store)
    CH 700+ (I live in So Cal with hard water, plus hard to discern the change from violet to blue)

    On my IC40, I see the following:
    Salt level LED green
    Power LED green
    Cell LED green
    Flow LED green
    I have it cranked up to 100% (for about a month), but it's not producing any chlorine.

    Do I have a bad cell? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    I have a pebble tek pool, about 28K gallons.

    The water is clear, some slight algae, and for what it's worth, the cell diagnostics says 60%.

    Thanks
    Joe

    21k IG vinyl, 300 lb. sand filter, 1hp pump, Polaris 280 cleaner, 3/4hp booster pump, 240sq ft Fafco solar, Liquidator

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    I would double check the salt level. My IC60 does not produce chlorine very well when it gets below 3000. And I had to recalibrate it before. It was reading green, level ok. But it was actually 2600ish...

    Chris
    http://www.circledspecialties.com

    44,000 IG Salt Pool - Pentair VF, Quad 100, Polaris 280, IC60, 400 Mater Temp

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    I bought some salt test strips, and was reading about 1600, so I dumped some salt in. The IC40 salt high LED started blinking and hasn't stopped. This morning, the salt strips read 3760.

    I also bumped my CYA up to 60.

    I ran the filter and IC40 all night (after the CYA and salt additions yesterday), still no chlorine production.

    I guess my next step is calling Pentair. Any other suggestions?
    Joe

    21k IG vinyl, 300 lb. sand filter, 1hp pump, Polaris 280 cleaner, 3/4hp booster pump, 240sq ft Fafco solar, Liquidator

  4. Back To Top    #4
    New2Me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    322

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    Are there any bubbles coming out of the returns(is it making any chlorine at all)?
    If so, then I think that you should turn off the IC40, and use bleach to:
    (a.) shock until the algae is gone,(it's eating the chlorine faster than the IC can make it, you will NEVER be able to kill it with the IC alone, don't use any powdered "Shock" products,they will scale up the IC)
    (b.) and you can establish and maintain a FC level appropriate for your CYA level.
    Then turn the IC back on at 100%, and dial it down day by day until you stop raising FC and can maintain it at your desired level.
    You'll probably end up adjusting it every other day or so if it is a stand alone unit. Mine would be fine set at 50%, but I can only set it at 60% for a few days, and then 40% for a few as that is all you can do without having it hooked up to an automation system
    22 x 40 IG vinyl lined, 23,570 gal.
    1 hp. Pac-Fab Challenger pump 300# sand filter
    Intex 8110 SWG, Hayward CL220 offline feeder
    Hayward 250K Btu gas heater
    Aquabots

  5. Back To Top    #5
    BobinBaltimore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Northeast of Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    116

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    Just to confirm, your IC40 is a stand-alone, not attached to any automation system (IntelliTouch or EasyTouch)?
    25' x 37' freeform, 22,000 gallon saltwater, 3'6" to 6'6" deep, including baja shelf and benches, 120 ft EP Henry retaining wall
    Pentair equipment (CC420 cartridge filter, VS-3050 variable speed pump, IC 60 salt cell, EasyTouch), 200 sq ft pool house
    View our Pool Build - View our Pool House Build

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    My IC40 is part of the intellitouch system, not stand-alone. I've tried measuring the chlorine right at the returns, then comparing to the chlorine level at the other end of the pool, with no difference. I don't see bubbles (but never did).

    I'm calling Pentair to discuss today.

    Thanks
    Joe

    21k IG vinyl, 300 lb. sand filter, 1hp pump, Polaris 280 cleaner, 3/4hp booster pump, 240sq ft Fafco solar, Liquidator

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    I am having same problem with my pool but no algae I can discern. (Is there a test for algae?) What was the result from pentair? My unit is less than 4 years old and just out of warranty (of course)...these babies are expensive!
    17k SWG, Quad DE filter, pentair pump and filter, solar heated, pebblesheen finish

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    His issue and your issue is most likely algae consuming chlorine faster than the SWG can produce it. Raise FC up to 10, turn off the SWG and Pool School - Perform the Overnight FC Loss Test (OCLT). This will tell you if there is organic material consuming your chlorine.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Quinlan, tx
    Posts
    811

    Re: Pentair IC40 is not generating chlorine

    From my limited experience with my SWG and TFP this year, I too, have found that anytime my SWG can't keep up, there is something organic in the water. In my case, it is usually some type of dead animal (frog, rat, scorpion, flying ants, you name it, I've probably had it) - that's country living for ya!
    26,000 IG, pebble tec, flagstone, pentair Triton II TR100 sand filter & VS+SVRS 3hp multi-speed pump, Intellichlor IC-40 SWG, Pentair Booster Cleaner, spillover spa, waterfall, Taylor K-2006 testkit
    [It is better to know how to learn, than to know. - Dr. Seuss[/I]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •