Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: 12.5% bleach causing dry skin

1. Back To Top    #1

12.5% bleach causing dry skin

Firstly,

I have been using Clorox or off brand since switching to BBB this spring. However I got a couple of gallons of SO WHITE brand "Swim KLEEN" 12.5% at the local pool supply. But when I started using it we noticed it started making our skin really dry and my rock solid CH went up from 125 to 150 with only a gallon use. Checked it twice to make sure.

Has anybody noticed this with other 12.5% over the 6% Clorox? What would cause the rise in CH. Luckily I only bought two gallons. Gonna put the other one aside to use when we close the pool.

Secondly,

I'm a lurker but I LOVE LOVE LOVE this site. Moved into our new house a year ago, so I am a total pool noob. Like many sheople went to the pool store to see what I needed to open the pool this spring. Too much money a few weeks later still had a cloudy pool. Then I stumbled on yawls site. Reading then re-reading pool school and these forums and getting the proper testing kit I have had sparkly clear water all summer with little effort. THANK YOU ALL
    12'X20'X48" AGP
    6300 gallons (according to poolcalc)
    Hayward 180T sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: 12.5% bleach causing dry skin

What is your FC level? Could be high levels of chlorine. How much did you add?

3. Back To Top    #3

what about CYA and pH? Post up all the levels.

Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4