Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Ah man, algae

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Ah man, algae

    Noob here. I've posted so many things thus far and have had wonderful response. THANK YOU. We just filled our pool about 6 days ago. Shocked it using dichlor for the first four nights and on the 5th night we noticed algae. Small amounts on the bottom along the seems and other areas. We have shocked it using bleach and advice per pool school but it's still there. Shock level is 12 and we are maintaining that or above and brushing. We have an intex pump and filter with our nre pentair/sand pump in transit to us now. May be here in the next 3 days or so. These were the test results before we shocked
    FC 6.5
    CC .5
    TA 190 trying to lower by aerating
    CH 230
    CYA 23- hoping this will go up? Thought it should be near 30 after four days of dichlor

    Have not added any algaecide. Added enought bleach to raise FC to 15
    What do we do? We have not been in our pool yet!!! Please help!
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Not that it matter, but what is you PH?

    Are you sure it algae and not dust settling in the creases/seams?
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Something is amiss. Algae should not grow in a pool with chlorine like you described.

    You are not shocking your pool....but let's deal with that in a minute.

    How much dichlor did you put in your pool each of the four nights?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    We put in 31.8 oz a night of dichlor each night. Ph is 7.5 we have approx 15500 gallons of water in our pool
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Our pool is partially Under a tree. Could it possibly br something from the tree?
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Just retested CYA and it's about 18
    PH is high. About 8.2

    Also when we brush the algae is comes up very easily in a cloud. Is that normal consistency? It always comes back though. Usually in a different spot. Sometimes it's in lines and sometimes in blotches. Just trying to figure out if it's actually algae. It is greenish brownin color.
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northern Maryland (near Delaware)
    Posts
    170

    Re: Ah man, algae

    could it be copper?
    15'X30'X52" AGP AquaSports Grande Buttress Free (10,620 Gallons), Hayward Dreamline S190 W Zeobrite, 1.5 HP Hayward PowerFlo LX, AquaLuminator Light+ fountain attachment, Pool Rover, Tf-100 test kit, Speed Stir.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Well, something is still not right. You are misunderstanding a couple of things but you still should not have algae.

    What was your water source when you filled? Was it clear?

    I assume your 31.8 oz dose was a packet, is that correct?

    Why did you switch to bleach?

    These questions may seem random but I am trying to get a picture of what you have done so far and how you could possibly have algae in that pool.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    We used city water right from our garden hose. It was packets of dichlor that is correct. We stopped using dichlor because in reading pool school it said to stop after the fourth night because of the delicate balance of CYA and FC. It said to use bleach as our source after that. We were afraid to use anymore dichlor. We had been told that the CYA could rise over the next few days. We brought the FC up to 15 last night and scrubbed the bottom. Really we just brushed. It comes up very easily like dust. We tested the FC this morning and it was at 12 so we raised it again to 15 and kept it there for the course of the day. This evening there were patches all over the bottom of the pool. Never on the sides or anywhere else tho. Water is very clear. Walls do not feel slimy. But the bottom is a little slick. I'm sure we are misunderstanding a lot of things. We have also been listening to our neighbor go on and on about what he uses. Pleas help us understand. What are we misunderstanding? Thank you! We have read and retread pool school a million times. We have at this point confused ourselves.
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    I might add that it has been Very hot here. Today was 101 with heat index of 105. It's been like that for two weeks. Don't know if that makes a difference.
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Has the pool be vacumed?

    Perform the OFCLT. If you pass, it's likely just dust...if not then it is time to shock.
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Ah man, algae

    This evening there were patches all over the bottom of the pool.
    I think that is very likely dead algae. That's a good thing. I just can't understand how you got algae in the first place. Given that you dosed your pool to 9+ppm each evening with dichlor, that doesn't give algae a chance to form.

    I also think you might be following a guideline for the seasonal, temporary pool article. Your pool is too big for that so, if that's where you got the dichlor info, don't go back there.

    So, you have put in enough dichlor to raise your CYA to around 30. Assume it is there and don't test for it.

    Now read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School. You have basically started the process anyway so keep your FC up around 12-15 ppm constantly until your water is crystal clear. You must do all the other things in that article, too. You must vacuum at least daily, you should brush the sides and floor at least daily, and you must clean/backwash your filter each time you get a 25% psi rise.

    Follow the EXACT directions in the article in Pool School and your pool will clear up. How you got algae is water under the bridge so don't worry about it. Once your pool is crystal clear, you will not get algae again if, and only IF, you keep your chlorine at an adequate level.......NEVER letting it drop below about 3ppm.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Joplin Missouri
    Posts
    45

    Re: Ah man, algae

    Thanks. That is where I got my information. We have vacuumed, back washed, changed out filters and scrubbed daily. Thanks for the advice. Will follow.
    28ft AG Doughboy Autumn Breeze, 1.5hp DB Powerline XP 1 pump, DB Sand Filter MM 1900 (19inch), Doughzone Generator (ozone purification), TF-100 test kit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •