Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: First Time Pool Owner Confused About Free Chlorine level

1. Back To Top    #1

First Time Pool Owner Confused About Free Chlorine level

Hi guys,

This is my first time owning a pool. I went to Leslies Pool Supplies and bought some "dichlor" Chlorine granules. It is stabilized chlorine. On the bucket itself, it tells me to maintain a free chlorine level of 1-3 ppm, by adding 3 ounces of the chlorine per 10,000 gallons every other day.

However, this is stabilized chlorine, and my CYA level is 60. I went to poolcalculator.com and it recommends a free chlorine level of 5-9 ppm based on my CYA level. My question is why would the bucket of chlorine tell me to stay at 1-3 ppm if they made it and know it's stabilized chlorine and the CYA level will rise? Should I listen to the instructions on the bucket or the poolcalculator.com website?

Thanks very much for your help
    4,500 Gallon above ground
    Cartridge Filter
    Vinyl

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First Time Pool Owner Confused About Free Chlorine level

Hi Penn,

A lot of people even in the industry don't understand how CYA really works. The traditional method is just to keep your FC at 1-3 ppm and ignore the CYA. In my experience you will get much better results following the poolcalculator.

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Christian
    Hi Penn,

A lot of people even in the industry don't understand how CYA really works. The traditional method is just to keep your FC at 1-3 ppm and ignore the CYA. In my experience you will get much better results following the poolcalculator.