Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie Needs Help: No FC? Just added SWG.

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie Needs Help: No FC? Just added SWG.

I am new to TFP and what a great site this is. Thanks in advance for suggestions and help.

I am trying to help my mother n law with her 22K gal IG pool and want to make it easier on her pocketbook, hence the reason why I added the SWG (circupool RJ45).

I am new to the whole pool keep up and getting the water cyrstal clear. When I started approx 3weeks ago it was a mess and green. Today it is clear but not like I want it. I took a water sample to a local pool supply and they talked me into Phosphate remover ($53) because it was around 1000, never again will I do that according to this wonderful site. I am having trouble getting my FC up and thats why I am here..

CC 0.31
    FC 0.31 - added 184 bleach yesterday and still low(lite yellow) this morning with Walmart test strips
    PH 7.9 - added 1 quart acid yesterday
    TA 119
    CH 200
    CYA 45
    Salt - 4200 - a little high would like around 3500ish

I think I have an algae problem eating my chlorine, and need to shock. Pool Calc says to add 670oz of bleach, do I add all at one time? Please help.

With the cost of the SWG and chemicals just seems to be no end.... Also taylor k-2006 test kits order today. Thanks

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie Needs Help: No FC? Just added SWG.

Welcome to TFP.

It looks like you need to shock. If we can believe the CYA it will take 716 oz (~ 4 large jugs) to get to shock level. And yes, you pour it all in at once. Wait an hour and retest and raise it back to shock level.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome!