Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TF-100 Purchase Options

1. Back To Top    #1
    Palm Coast, FL

TF-100 Purchase Options

I'm new to pool maintenance and am considering what options I should get in addition to the TF-100 Test Kit.

*A SpeedStir seems handy. How many extra stirrers should I get?

*Is the sample sizer worthwhile? I need only to add the magnetic stirrer after measuring the correct level in the vial, right?

*I have an SWG and can read the concentration off of the Aqua-Logic control. Do I still need test strips?

*I don't think i need XL since my pool water is ok now and being managed by the pool service.

Any other considerations?

30' x 15' ~ 15,000 gallon pool & spa, Diamond Brite, Hayward Aqua Logic PS-4, Turbo Cell T-Cell 15 SWG, EcoStar SP3400VSP pump , Star Clear Plus C17502 filter, Rheem P-M206A-EP-C heater, Caretaker 99 5-port 1.5 inch valve

2. Back To Top    #2
    SouthWest Alabama

Re: TF-100 Purchase Options

The speedstir is awesome and well worth the money. I wouldn't worry about getting extra bars right now. I've always wanted the sample sizer but have never bought one. I use a 10 ml graduated syringe to fill the vial.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3
    Sun City West Arizona (2nd Home)

A number here like enough stir bars to not have to wash between tests, so 2-3.

No need for XL if you will not be doing a lot of testing

Salt Strips are nice for those times when you get a low or high salt reading from the SWG, and are not sure that it is correct. I have an electronic salt tester, so did not buy strips.

For sample sizing, I use pipettes that I bought off Amazon: ... 00_s00_i03