Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    Ugh....

    Pool newb here, just got everything under control as far as understanding daily chemical maintenance with chlorine, etc....


    Previous owner told me he kept pump on 24/7, but after reading here that wasn't necessary, and seeing my electric bill, I've been shutting the pump off for about half the day. I've been having to prime my pump every time I restart it, so I've ordered a silicone gel to put on the o -ring of the strainer basket, to see if that solves the problem of my pump losing prime when I shut it off.

    I never turned my heater off over these last few days, and just now noticed that the display is blank. I tried turning it off and on again....nothing...

    looked at the circuit breaker in the basement, but it hasn't tripped.


    I've turned off the gas supply, to be safe, and turned the heater off, even though the display doesn't work even if it's turned on.



    So...if my heater was on, and the pump lost prime, that means there was no water in the heater while it was on(?), which means.....I've just broken the heater?

    The pool water was around 87 lately, so I actually had the thermostat set at 80, and I don't think the water would have gotten below that temp....

    Not sure where to begin here....did I just screw my heater bad?
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    elwood58's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sun City West Arizona (2nd Home)
    Posts
    639

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    Most every heater has a flow switch, and will not heat without good water flow.
    19204 Gallon L Shape with a 10X10 2nd Step Baja Ledge. Intellichlor IC-40, IntellipH, Cartridge Filter, Pentair Heater/Chiller (Heat Pump). Tons of Deck with Deck Jets. Construction Complete 6/5/17.

    "If you don't measure it, you can't manage it!"

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    ok....

    so....any idea why the unit won't even turn on?
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Lershac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,215

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    My heater display is blank until it kicks on. But mine is automated (intellitouch)
    (DIY):16K Gal 20X30 rectangular IG Gunite, w/spa, CCP 520 filter,2 Pentair VS pumps, 400KBTU Pentair gas heater, Heat Pump for cooling, **update5.25.2013** added an intellichem with acid pump that will control existing SWG. My Build Thread Here

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    alright, so I've got the heater functional again...

    turns out the GFCI had tripped...., so I found it, and reset it...



    If I plan on turning the pump off, do I also need to turn the heater off? If so, do I need to turn the gas off to it each time?
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Lershac's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    1,215

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    Ideally no to both. The heater should have a flow switch which stops the heating cycle if flow falls too low. You don't have to turn the gas off to it unless its being serviced or you have a leak. I would test the heater by shutting off the pump while it's on and make sure it goes off. If it does then I would periodically check that function ( monthly, seasonally?) if you are really not trusting it, I would have a service technician give it a good going over to test the safety functions specifically.

    My heater is tied into my automation and is cut off by that. Do you have automation?
    (DIY):16K Gal 20X30 rectangular IG Gunite, w/spa, CCP 520 filter,2 Pentair VS pumps, 400KBTU Pentair gas heater, Heat Pump for cooling, **update5.25.2013** added an intellichem with acid pump that will control existing SWG. My Build Thread Here

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Re: Did I just break my water heater???!!!!

    I have a timer on the filter, but I don't know if it's tied into the heater....
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •