Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Need help with pump!!

1. Back To Top    #1

Need help with pump!!

Hey Guys and Gals,

Please forgive me, for I am a noob at pools.. My wife and I purchased a Summer Escapes 18' x 48" pool (with the side skimmer) last year. We didn't want to deal with the chemicals so we purchased a Intex Salt System for it from Leslie's Pool Supply. The pump has given us major problems though!! Currently we have a SFS1000 Filter System with a F1500C Pump. Last year it went out on us and I called to get it replaced. 2 months and 3 wrong parts later, we got the correct pump and had it working again. Today, low and behold, the pump has seized up and died again. I want to switch to a different kind of pump but am not sure what is best or can be attached to my pool. The main thing i'm worried about is how I can connect whatever pump i'm getting to the side skimmer of the Summer Escapes pool. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Smithfield, NC
    Summer Escapes 18' x 48" Pool
    Intex 2650 Sand Filter / Salt Water System

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Need help with pump!!

The intex 2650 sand filter/pump combo is popular and we've seen very few issues with it.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks Bama.. Do I really need 2600 GPH though?? I was looking more into the 1600 GPH.. is this a "more is better" case??

Also, I already have an intex SWG hooked to my pool.. that one has a combo and I would be loosing my independent one if I bought it.. I was looking at this one.. what do you think??

http://www.amazon.com/Intex-Krystal-Gal ... +sand+pump
    Smithfield, NC

4. Back To Top    #4

Upsizing a filter is typically not a bad idea.