I would have to raise the FC to about 30

Jul 19, 2012
Hi

Newbie here ;) Many thanks for this great forum to help me.

I was about to shock my Salt Water Pool so thought the best place to read up on it was here but now I am more confused than ever :(

My CYA is about 70-80
My FC based on the recommendations here is being kept around 5-6FC
My CC is about .2
BUT My overnight FC drop is about 1.5 -2.0FC

My pool is clear but get a lot of dead algea dust on the bottom it has also been super hot here recently

If I use the table here on shock level based on my CYA level i would have to raise the FC to about 30FC however not one product recommends this. I even caontacted HTH and they could not understand this. According to them I should be only shocking to a level of 5FC which I already am at :( I was told I run the risk of damaging equipment at this level.

I have just exhausted Google trying to get an answer :(

Is this reading of 30 meant for NON salt water pools?

The majority of the pool industry is in denial about what CYA does. When CYA is around 70 to 80 you need to use much higher FC levels than you would need to use when CYA is lower. However much of the pool industry simply takes the numbers that would work if CYA was zero, and repeats them regardless of the CYA level. Obviously shocking to 5 will not work. If it would work it would have already worked for you.

There is no risk what so ever to the equipment of having FC around 30 when CYA is 70 or 80. There would be a risk if CYA was actually zero.

Welcome to the forum. :lol:
Obviously shocking to 5 will not work. If it would work it would have already worked for you.
+1 :lol:

Unless you bring your FC up to that 30ppm value (and HOLD IT there until you pass the OCLT), you will simply continue to stay stuck using additional chlorine to fight the algae (and subsequent "dust") you are seeing.

duraleigh said:
Welcome to the forum. :lol: