Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I would have to raise the FC to about 30

I would have to raise the FC to about 30

Hi

Newbie here Many thanks for this great forum to help me.

I was about to shock my Salt Water Pool so thought the best place to read up on it was here but now I am more confused than ever

My CYA is about 70-80
    My FC based on the recommendations here is being kept around 5-6FC
    My CC is about .2
    BUT My overnight FC drop is about 1.5 -2.0FC

My pool is clear but get a lot of dead algea dust on the bottom it has also been super hot here recently

If I use the table here on shock level based on my CYA level i would have to raise the FC to about 30FC however not one product recommends this. I even caontacted HTH and they could not understand this. According to them I should be only shocking to a level of 5FC which I already am at I was told I run the risk of damaging equipment at this level.

I have just exhausted Google trying to get an answer

Is this reading of 30 meant for NON salt water pools?
    17,000 gal SWG pool
    Liner, 5 x Heliocol solar panels, Haywood gas heater, Super Pump II 1HP, Haywood pro sand filter, Haywood T cell-15, Pro Logic controller,
    Taylor test kit controlled pool
    Params - 5.0FC (if not shocking) ca-270, ALk-100, pH-7.2-7.6, NACL - 3000, CYA -60-70

Re: I would have to raise the FC to about 30

The majority of the pool industry is in denial about what CYA does. When CYA is around 70 to 80 you need to use much higher FC levels than you would need to use when CYA is lower. However much of the pool industry simply takes the numbers that would work if CYA was zero, and repeats them regardless of the CYA level. Obviously shocking to 5 will not work. If it would work it would have already worked for you.