Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Algae groth in over chlorinated pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Algae groth in over chlorinated pool

I'm new to pools and have a black algae problem, at least I think it's bad I have shocked my pool (some times every other day) for a weak and a half - needless to say the pool is well over chlorinated (off the color chart) and the algae keeps on coming.

2,400 gal (12' x 36 ") - FILTER is a cartridge type skimmer - PUMP came with pool (Summer Escapes) - ABOVE GROUND -

2. Back To Top    #2
    Twin Cities, MN

Re: Algae groth in over chlorinated pool

Welcome to tfp, jimjd3

Are you sure it is black algae? What does it feel like? Is is slimy? Are you able to scrap the "head" off? If you want post some pictures, that may help with the diagnosis.

With that said, if it is black algae, you will need to do the shocking process.

To do this process an appropriate test kit is needed to be most efficient. See: I like the TF-100 most bang for the buck.

Pool school (link is in the upper right of each page) is the place to start. This is an article that may be helpful:
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

3. Back To Top    #3

I goggled some more and found it wasn't black algae after all.

It's very dark green almost black buds about 3/16 in. around that kind of look like flowers they are free floating around on the bottom of the pool.

I should also mention I have a small above ground.

2,400 gal (12' x 36 ") - FILTER is a cartridge type skimmer - PUMP came with pool (Summer Escapes) - ABOVE GROUND -

4. Back To Top    #4

San Rafael, CA USA

Welcome to TFP!