Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Sws owner/ slimy pool walls/ low fc

1. Back To Top    #1

New Sws owner/ slimy pool walls/ low fc

I am new to the Sws. We have a 14x42 intel pool with the Sws. Just a few days ago the walls became slimy where the sum doesn't hit. I tested the pool today and I have a reading of 0 FC and a PH of 7.2 my salt water level is reading 2260 ppm. The Sws runs for 1 hr and we have boosted it twice! Should I add more salt? Can I add liquid chlorine? Do I add algaecide? I have a three way tester do I need to test something else? No quite sure what to do. I have read so many different things ..... Thanks!
    12,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

2. Back To Top    #2
    Twin Cities, MN

Re: New Sws owner/ slimy pool walls/ low fc

Welcome to tfp, Mjbjlemu

What does your water look like?

With no chlorine in your pool you are at risk for getting you have found out (the slimy stuff most likely).

You will need to do the shocking process. During shocking leave your swg (saltwater chlorine generator) portion of your system off and just use bleach/liquid chlorine to raise and hold the chlorine level above you FC shocking level.

Test kits: to do the shocking process most efficiently you will benefit from a approapriate test kit. See: I prefer the TF-100, most bang for buck.

Quote Originally Posted by Mjbjlemu
    Do I add algaecide?
    No, algaecide is best used to prevent algae and is generally not needed when proper chlorine levels are maintained.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

3. Back To Top    #3
    Tucson, AZ