Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TF-100 chemicals and CH question

1. Back To Top    #1

TF-100 chemicals and CH question

First big thanks to all. I have been using the BBB method for 3 months and the water looks great. I'm almost to a point where I could add chemicals without even taking measurements just by looking at the pool and knowing what I added last. I always try to guess before testing.

I do have a question about chemicals for the test kit. At first I was testing weekly but now it's every 10-14 days between testing (asside from daily or every other day OTO and PH test). When I test I was testing everything. I am needing to order more r-0010, r-0012 and r-0013. Just curious as to why the kit had fewer test for CH and CYA than the other ones. Should I be testing these less often?

Also I have been testing my neighbors pool and I converted them over the bbb method as well. Their CH was over 500 but now it's around 470. Everything I read says they will need to drain but is that really the case or will this drop over time? Also how bad is this level, what are the downsides of it being this high. (her pool is inground chlorine and plaster)

TIA
    21,000 gallon pool w/spa, Pebble Sheen, Hayward EcoStar variable speed filter pump, Hayward DE6020 Filter, Hayward 400FDN Heater, Stenner pump with 15 gallon tank, Clear O3 ozone system, Hayward Goldline PS-8 controller, Hayward 6060 cleaner pump, Polaris 280 cleaner, Hayward EcoStar variable speed water feature pump.

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: TF-100 chemicals and CH question

Just curious as to why the kit had fewer test for CH and CYA than the other ones. Should I be testing these less often?
    Yes. CYA and CH are both reasonably stable and I suggest testing them only 4-6 times during a swim season.