Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Is 1 Backwash Sometimes Not Enough?

1. Back To Top    #1

Is 1 Backwash Sometimes Not Enough?

Hey folks,

I'm new to Sand Filters. Just got a new 350 lb one, which has been in service 1 week cleaning a very dirty pool. The first time I turned it on the PSI was around 9, give or take 1. The first couple of times I backwashed, it brought the pressure back down to 10 psi. But now when I backwash, it only drops to 12 psi when it's done. My procedure has been backwash for 2 minutes, then rinse for 30 seconds. Should I repeat the procedure if it doesn't bring it down to 10?

Thanks
    18 X 36 In-Ground Vinyl Pool, Hayward 1 HP SuperPump, Hayward SP270T 350lb Sand Filter, CompuPool CPSC48 Salt Chlorine Generator, Hayward H400FDN 400 BTU Natural Gas Heater, 2 returns, 1 skimmer, No Main Drain

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Is 1 Backwash Sometimes Not Enough?

I backwash mine until the water in the sightglass is clear and has most of the black particles out of it, then rinse (30 sec - 1 minute), then do another 1-2 minute wash, followed by another rinse, then back to normal filter mode. Usually I don't do the second wash / rinse and let it go at once if it didn't take very long to get clear. But I really use the sightglass for Determining when to quit washing, and not time per se.
    16x32 IG 19,000 gallons, Pentair 1.5 hp Energy Efficient Superflo pump (348024),vinyl liner, Chlorine dispenser, Hayward S-244T sand filter

3. Back To Top    #3

I use time. 1 min backwash, turn pump off for 1 min, repeat 2 more times, rinse for 30 seconds, pump off for 30 seconds, then back to filter.
    Larry in Texas

Above ground 7,700 gallons, 19 inch sand filter ( 2 sq. ft.), Liquidator, and a WaterWay Hi-Flo Pump with an A.O. Smith 1 hp SF 1.0 motor.

4. Back To Top    #4