Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Southern Indiana (Harrison County)
    Posts
    10

    Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    I have a problem where I was told to add flock to our pool to "help" settle the dead algae. The same day, we got 4 inches of rain. We have been fighting both algae and thedanged flock since the end of May. To exacerbate the problem, we have had 104 degree heat every day for almost 2 weeks. I have about defeated the algae, but the flock seems to never go away. We run our filter and pump 24/7 (cheaper that way), and use the pool everyday. Our chlorine level is fine about 5 (not.5) ppm and altho it is a bit high, with all of the sunshine and heat it seems to me to be necessary. My question is this: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump, and will it hurt it or does it go straight to the filter? We live in the country so everything is easily acessable.
    Alden Shipley
    Pool:IG, 24x44 45000 Gal.Concrete, built 1982.
    3.5 feet shallow end to 8 feet deepend.
    Hayward Sand Filter 300 LB Sand.
    1.5 HP motor, single speed Flow rate unknown.
    2 Skimmers, 1 deep 1 opposite shallow in deep end drain.
    We use about 300 feet of coiled black pvc pipe to heat the pool from the sun Novice pool owner. Has a leak somewhere. We will find it. (I hope.) :>
    Southern Indiana (Harrison County).

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    Welcome to TFP!

    When you add DE to the skimmer it goes throughout the pump without causing any problems and from there directly into the filter.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    Welcome to tfp, APS

    Keep an eye on your filter pressure, it can go up pretty fast once the DE is catching stuff. Speaking of catching stuff, sounds like your water my be showing signs of algae (if it is cloudy)?
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    Our chlorine level is fine about 5 (not.5) ppm
    Perhaps. What is your CYA?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Southern Indiana (Harrison County)
    Posts
    10

    Re: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    Thanks to all of you. This is THE BEST site I have found for dealing with pool issues with very little BS. I truly appreciate being a member, and have been thoroughly impressed with th caliber of the messages. I also like how those members who are pool companies or poo stores have been a bit more forthcoming than the folks I have toi deal with. My CYA when checked was at 55ppm. The pool store company here also uses strips. I have a Walmart HTH kit which covers about 6 tests. When I get a water sample, I take it at about 6 feet, mid pool. A lot of the discussions about gpm, horsepower rate of flow etc, are quite frankly above my head as I am no engineer. I appreciate any help y'all can give me.
    Alden Shipley
    Pool:IG, 24x44 45000 Gal.Concrete, built 1982.
    3.5 feet shallow end to 8 feet deepend.
    Hayward Sand Filter 300 LB Sand.
    1.5 HP motor, single speed Flow rate unknown.
    2 Skimmers, 1 deep 1 opposite shallow in deep end drain.
    We use about 300 feet of coiled black pvc pipe to heat the pool from the sun Novice pool owner. Has a leak somewhere. We will find it. (I hope.) :>
    Southern Indiana (Harrison County).

  6. Back To Top    #6
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Does the Diatamaceous Earth go through the pump

    How is your water looking?

    What does your HTH (I assume it is the drop based kit) give you for cya?

    If the pool store is right (this is one test they mess up the most and strips are almost usless for cya), your 55 ppm cya means you never want your FC to get below 4 per poolcalculator.com. There is also a table that list fc per cya level here: http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...ya_chart_shock

    All this good stuff and more is in the pool school, link at upper right hand corner of each page.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •