LifeTime Supporter
Jun 24, 2012
Indiana
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I pity da fool who put me in charge of taking care of this beast! I have one for the Pool Owner of the Year judges. I have gone about this new pool venture so meticulously. I researched. I studied. I interviewed. I compared. With such careful thought and consideration I cannot help but laugh at myself for this one and must have totally misplaced confidence somewhere in my subconscious. I've struggled to balance my new water and have been on here numerous times to work it out. In a nutshell, I can't keep the thing chlorinated and have questioned everything about it. I questioned my testing skills. I questioned the tests and their directions. I questioned the start-up recommendations found here on TFP. By late afternoon when I had to add even more bleach (btw, my pool care career spans a whopping 6 days) I was questioning the BBB method in general, thinking perhaps those of you who get on here and rave about it must surely be able to acquire your bleach much more conveniently than I, since I do live in such a rural area that even the nearest Walmart is a 40 minute drive, one way. Well only tonight did I bother to question MYSELF and read the ingredients list of the bags of shock I bought before the pool was put in. I guess I just thought that if it said SHOCK, it was dichlor. But I haven't been adding dichlor at all! Instead, I gradually dumped 10 pounds of hypo-cal into my already very hard water and kept getting on here asking you fine folks to help me figure out my CYA levels, since they just HAD to be there, but my crazy test just wasn't catching on! LOL

Good gravy, I do not believe this was my last act of stupidity with the pool, but I am sure floored that I carried on so long without catching that. I picked up some stabilizer (but too little, unfortunately) and have the socks floating on my ladder tonight.