UV System.. Is it worth it?

BerkshirePoolandSpa

In The Industry
Jul 2, 2012
This is my first post do I'll give a little background.

I've been in the pool business for around 7 years now. I work for a resort so it's kind of limited on the equipment side of it. I decided to start a small business for some side work and extra cash. Going very well, a lot of hours but a lot of money.

Anyways... My question is... I've got a client that is looking at installing a UV system on a 25,000 gallon inground pool. Ive already installed new plumbing (what's not underground), a new pump, filter and heat pump. This guy has a ton of money so that's not an issue. Is a UV system worth him installing over any other sanitation system. He wants as little maintenance and use of chlorine as possible. He's even talked about installing a salt system to go with the UV system he wants.

So after all of that rambling lol... Is it worth it for him? I have limited knowledge on UV and there's little information out there.

Welcome to TFP

A SWG is highly recommended and very convenient. However, in an outdoor residential pool UV adds no real value. UV is good at breaking down organic waste, but chlorine alone takes care of doing that before the water gets to the UV system, unless there are lots of people swimming, so nothing for the UV to do. If they have huge swim parties multiple days in a row on a regular basis then there is some value to UV.

BerkshirePoolandSpa said:
Richard320 said:
Is the pool indoors or outdoors?

The salt system is a good idea.

Outdoor residential. This guy is "skeeved" out over the thought of a pool. It's for his kid and he just wants it as clean as possible with the lowest amount of chlorine needed.
There's plenty of UV light outdoors. It won't help.

linen said:
Welcome to tfp, BerkshirePoolandSpa :wave:

with the lowest amount of chlorine needed.