Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Drained and refilled the pool: CYA still high

1. Back To Top    #1

Drained and refilled the pool: CYA still high

Hello Experts:

As you can tell from my user name, I am total noob in pool care

Anyhow, here is my background thread:

First post

I have gotten rid of pool care service, and now I am on my own. As I mentioned earlier, I am hopeful that with guidance and help from the experts here, I am sure that I will be able to manage the pool on my own.

Based on the advice in this First post thread, I drained (almost half of the pool) and refilled it, and tested it.

Here are my test results after refilling (before any chemical addition):

pH - 7.8 (Leslie's 8.0)
    Total Alkalinity - 90 ppm (Leslie's 90)
    Free chlorine - 1 ppm (Leslie's 1)
    Combined chlorine - Absent (Leslie's absent)
    Cyanuric Acid - 90-100 ppm (Leslie's 70)
    Calcium hardness - 200 ppm as Calcium carbonate (Leslie's 200)

Total dissolved solids: Leslie's 700

Phosphates: Leslie's 100

As I was under the impression that my pool is 11,000 Gallons (but pool guy was saying that it is close to 19,000 Gallons), and FC was 1 ppm. I dumped 182 oz of 6% bleach (bought from costco) slowly and let the pump run for 60 minutes, and when I tested the water again for FC, it was 10 ppm

So, I played with the pool calculator, and looks like my pool is only 9750 Gallons (can someone please check to see if my calculations are correct)??

So, what should I do now?? I guess, I need to lower the pH a bit, and FC is high also in addition to CYA that is also high. I have removed the float thing with tablets now, so I hope that CYA will not rise now Will CYA go down if no more CYA is being added since I am not using those tablets now?

Would you recommend that I drain the pool again (and use pool calculator for future calculations so that I dont make these mistakes again), or continue using at the current level?