Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie Here From AZ---Pool Prime Problem

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie Here From AZ---Pool Prime Problem

Hey guys and gals, been lurking for a while but it was time to post. Love the site and all the info. So I'm having an issue. Pool is about 5 yrs old.

So my motor bearings and parts of the pump went out. Took both in to get repaired. They replaced bearings, impeller, etc. Went home hooked everything back up the same way. Pump turns on fine. I fill the basket full of water with the hose and put lid on. I turn the pump on and it just sucks the water out of the basket and then thats it. Its like I will have my son on the other end of the suction hose where the cleaner is and he says it pulls hard for one second then dies off. So it must be getting air in it. I messed with this **** thing for 3 hours yesterday afternoon in 110 weaher with no luck. I tried filling the basket with water with the valves on the just the drain, then just the hose, both and everythime nada. It has to be sucking in air. Not sure, anyone have this issue before.

Thanks for any help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie Here From AZ---Pool Prime Problem

Welcome to TFP.

What type pool is it?
    Can you post a pic of the entire equipment pad?

Clean and lube the pump basket o-ring.
    Remove and reseal the drain plugs.
    If that doesn't work, run water over the suction plumbing and pump basket while trying to priime it and see if that helps.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

i found a problem. If you look at the picture i posted just to the right of pump is the first connector. Its having a drip right there. Do you think that can stop it from priming...

4. Back To Top    #4