Leaky Hoses

LMagee

Jun 26, 2012
Hi there,

Newbie here led to this forum while searching for a solution to my leaky hoses.

My pool was down for the winter as I needed to drain and replace the liner.

As I've now replaced the liner and am refilling pool to begin use, I can't seem to the the hoses from the pool to the pump to stop leaking. All is on secure and clamps are tight, but hoses are still leaking.

What should I purchase/use/do to stop the leaking?

TIA!

Thanks for the quick responses! I'm sorry for the delay but I didn't have pics of what I'm dealing with and I did attack it yesterday evening with renewed energy and thought I'd solved the leak issue but now have a new and improved issue.

First of all, I honestly don't know what brand of pool it is as it "came with my home" purchased 4 years ago. It is an above ground, 28ft round, 52" high pool. It has a Pentair Sand Dollar pump.

The pool has ran like a champ until last summer when I began getting leaks in the liner. Since the pool was more than 4 years old, I made the decision late last summer to drain and replace liner this summer.

Move forward to now - Pool liner replaced, pumps reconnected. Saturday hose from pump to intake jet were leaky. I tightened clamps and minimized leaking for kids swimming. During the day, a couple of kids pushed a pool noodle against jet and of course, the pressure forced the hose to blow off intake jet and had to stop pump and reattach. Since then, hose has not stopped leaking.

Last night I replaced the hose (thinking it might be stretched as it was not replaced last year). Used silicone tape around hose and hose barb, then attached and tights two clamps. Hose we back to operational and not leaking (YAY!)

Now to current issue - Pump seemed to be running at a higher psi than normal (I normally see it run efficiently between 20-30 psi and it was running at 40 psi last night. However, I called my dad, who also has an above ground pool and he said it was probably ok.