LifeTime Supporter
Jun 24, 2012
Indiana
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
This is my second attempt to make my first post (I think it was in the wrong place before), but I've been lurking for a little while trying to make good purchasing decisions. I am a total pool newbie. Thanks so much to you already!

My new 27' round AG ~17,600 gal pool was delivered today. Yay! I knew in advance, thanks to TFP, to refuse the start-up chemicals and that my package would include a too-big pump with a too-small filter. The seller, however, would not separate the packaged sets. So I upgraded to the largest sand filter they had to offer, an "Ecco" oval 22" 250# guy by Waterway. It filters 2.6 SF with a flow rate of 55 GPM. With it is a 1.5 HP pump, single speed, but I can't tell anything else from the box. My thought is that between delivery and installation I can buy a different pump and sell this one.

Is a mix and match so easy? The installers work exclusively with the retailer, so they will not be prepared for random changes, I'm afraid. Will the fittings on the two match up or will I need to choose the same brand?

And about a different pump, will 3/4 HP be sufficient? If so, will I want a 2 speed in order to vacuum, or is that just for the bigger pumps?

I am also researching inexpensive chlorine generators (which might change my pump need?, and surely changes what chemicals I need to get out and buy) such as ChlorEase or Intex, but my pool volume is too big for any AG versions I have found. And I'm left wondering if these systems are even complete. if anyone has a recommendation, I would surely appreciate it!

Lastly (for now LOL), I have read through Pool School and want to double-check that my procedure for start up will be like that described for the temporary pools that come down at the end of each season. If I haven't found a SWCG, that is. There doesn't seem to be start-up directions for a new bigger pool.