Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cloudy pool... help!

1. Back To Top    #1

Cloudy pool... help!

I have a 12x3 above ground pool. I was gone for a few days and my chlorine and pH dropped, so when I got back... cloudy water. I raised the chlorine and pH back to a normal level. I shocked the pool last night... still cloudy. I started to brush the bottom of the pool this morning to clear debris and noticed a greenish cloud when I used the brush. The nightmare of every pool owner... algea! This morning my chlorine was at a 3 and pH was 7.6. What in the world do I do now? As you can guess... I'm pretty new to the whole pool thing, so please be as specific as you can. Thanks again for your help!
    I have a Hayward vari-flo xl-valve. Hp 1.5 Model SM-1700t. Sand filter.
    I believe I have a 24" above ground round pool. Liner has fish on top and a ocean scene on bottom.
    We live in clarksville, Tn. The pool is in full sun.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Cloudy pool... help!

How many gallons is this pool?

ETA: Have you seen this from Pool School? pool-school/temporary_pool_guide
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

You need to MAINTAIN shock level util your water meets the 3 criteria for shocking in pool school. Shock level FC kept for your CYA level--------running and filtering till done.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir