Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: cloudy pool - DE or algae

1. Back To Top    #1

cloudy pool - DE or algae

Hi, newbie here - be gentle

Pool was closed for 1 year - I've gotten a (newer) replacement filter + dolphin pool cleaner & opened the pool this year. As expected, uncovered to a swamp. In addition, there was a prior problem with DE filter where the earth was leaked into the pool.

Been following the BBB method - 1 week in now & shocking as recommended. Pool cleaner has been running 2-3times a day. Early cleanouts had tons of goo - recent ones seem limited to gray silt.

Current AM level, per K-2006 readings:

FC - 2.2
    PH - 7.4
    TA - 150
    CH - 80
    CYA- 30

Overnight test seems to lose 1.0 FC - but its +90 degrees now, so that maybe a factor.

Problem is - pool is still not clear - can't see bottom of pool @ deep end. Slight gray color, but could be due to DE vs dead algae. I haven't added any DE to the filter yet - was afraid to do so until the water is clear enough to determine whether filter isn't dumping DE. (re: filter - Disassembled it, visually checked all "fins" for tears, checked all plastic parts for cracks. Just being overly cautious ).

Was wondering if I should be doing more shocking, considering a clarifier, or just waiting? Reason for considering the clarifier: the pool cleaner could be stirring up the DE (if that's what it is) making things cloudy.

If a clarifier is the way to go, any BBB suggestions?
    42000 gallons, vinyl lazy L, Nautilus DE ns36 filter, 1.5hp hayward pump, dolphin plus cleaner.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: cloudy pool - DE or algae

Welcome to tfp, jimg

What is your CC level?

How are you getting your test numbers?

What is your filter "clean" pressure?
    At what pressure are you cleaning or backwashing your filter at?