Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Intex 2650 Sand Filter and vacuuming

1. Back To Top    #1

Intex 2650 Sand Filter and vacuuming

So I bought an Intex 2650 sand filter/pump to replace the inferior pump that came with my 18' Ultra Frame. It is supposed to arrive today. I have a question about hooking up an actual vacuum. From browsing this forum and other resources, all vacuums seem to attach to the "thru the wall" skimmer or a vacuum adapter plate on a "thru the wall" skimmer. My question is this...can I hook up a vacuum directly to my new sand/filter pump? Or do I have to attach it to the port where my cheapie over the wall skimmer unit is located? Or do I have to have a "thru the wall" skimmer to use a true vacuum? Granted, I would love a "thru the wall" skimmer...but I'm a newbie and I'm taking baby steps with everything. Appreciate any insight.
    18' x 48" Round AGP. Intex 2650 Sand Filter/Pump. Intex SWG

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Intex 2650 Sand Filter and vacuuming

You can just attach it to the port the over the wall skimmer attaches to. Depending on the size of your vacuum hose it may fit inside the opening or you might have to use the hose off the skimmer and put the vacuum hose into it. There'll be enough suction from the pump to hold it in place.

24'x52" Artesian w/ Portifino liner - Hayward 1hp powerflo matrix w/24" sand filter - AquaTrol RJ SWG. Solar heating to come. -

3. Back To Top    #3

Checkout this video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfLnsQnt5mc

It shows how I connected a standard pool vac to an intex pool pump and filter.
    15 ft x 48" Intex metal frame pool.
    Standard Intex skimmer
    Intex 1600gph Sand Filter

4. Back To Top    #4