Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Grounding pool to pump!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Grounding pool to pump!

    I have replaced my above ground pool with the exact same 24' above ground pool. I believe the only thing I need to do is ground the pump to the pool. I am using the existing electrical supply which has already been grounded previously. Am I able to do this myself and if so, how... or do I need a professional?
    Intex 12ft X 36 in inflatable ring pool - gotta start somewhere, right? :)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Glock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mesquite, Texas
    Posts
    866

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    First, Welcome to TFP!

    Are you talking about Bonding? or grounding? They are different terms but often confused as being the same thing; which, they are not.

    Bonding the pool is achieved by using a copper 8 gauge "halo" buried 4-6 inches deep and about 18-24 inches away from the pool. The halo is attached in 4 different places to the metal pool frame or uprights, then to the water, and then to the motor.

    Grounding the pool to a motor that is on a GFI or grounded recpetical is not the same thing. in my opinion, both should be done. However, I am sure a pro will chime in here are clarify things further. Hang in there. You have come tot he right place.
    18x34 Doughboy AGP 22300K Gallons - Build Thread
    Aquaview 24" Sand Filter - 1.5 HP Powerline Pump - Barracuda Ranger - Taylor K-2006 - BBB
    Pool School and Pool Calculator

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    Welcome to TFP!

    I suspect you are mixing up grounding and bonding. The pump must be grounded, while bonding requirements for above ground pools vary from place to place, though usually a 24' pool does need to be bonded.

    For grounding, there should be a ground wire coming to the pump along with the power wires, which gets connected to the ground lug inside the pump (right next to the power connections).

    For bonding, there should be a bonding lug on the outside of the pump that gets connected to the bonding wire. Bonding connects all metal objects that either contact the water or are within 3' of the edge of the pool. This connection keeps everything at the same electrical potential so that no one can get shocked while in the pool. The bonding wire should connect to the pump, heater, any metal in the frame of the pool, and run in a loop all the way around the outside of the pool.

    As I said, bonding requirements for above ground pools vary somewhat from place to place. If there was a bonding wire on the old pool, you should be able to simply hook it up in the same way to the new pool. If there was not previously a bonding wire, you should probably hire someone familiar with the local requirements to install one.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    Ok, I see that my pump is grounded. I guess it's bonding that needs to be done....I will check with the MA regs to see if I actually need to do it.....especially where the copper is outrageously price right now!!! Thank you.
    Intex 12ft X 36 in inflatable ring pool - gotta start somewhere, right? :)

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Glock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mesquite, Texas
    Posts
    866

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    I can send you the link to where I got mine online. I bought it by the foot and it was not bad at all. Gimme a few minutes to find it.
    18x34 Doughboy AGP 22300K Gallons - Build Thread
    Aquaview 24" Sand Filter - 1.5 HP Powerline Pump - Barracuda Ranger - Taylor K-2006 - BBB
    Pool School and Pool Calculator

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Glock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mesquite, Texas
    Posts
    866

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    Here is what I bought. .37 a foot, can't beat that.

    http://www.platt.com/platt-electric-sup ... zpid=62930
    18x34 Doughboy AGP 22300K Gallons - Build Thread
    Aquaview 24" Sand Filter - 1.5 HP Powerline Pump - Barracuda Ranger - Taylor K-2006 - BBB
    Pool School and Pool Calculator

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    western NY
    Posts
    1,557

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    It is a good idea to contact your local authority on this. In my area we do not have to provide a perimiter bond around an above ground pool. We have to do an attachment to 3 places on the pool frame no closer than 4' apart, a bond on the motor housing, a bond on the heater chassis and a water bond of no less than 9 square inches. All of this then needs to run to a 8' ground rod. The water bond is the tricky one if there is no heater in the system. The water bond can use the heat exchanger as its attachment point. If no heater then I usually install a 1.5" brass coupling on the pump intake with a water meter clamp on it. We also have to use solid #4 wire.
    Unknown make 18' above ground (bought used in 1999) Sparco sand filter. Hayward 100,000 BTu heater. 2 speed pump

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Glock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Mesquite, Texas
    Posts
    866

    Re: Grounding pool to pump!

    You can bond the water with a Burndy Waterbug. Its not cheap though. About 40 dollars shipped. Stainless steel and it goes in the skimmer.



    18x34 Doughboy AGP 22300K Gallons - Build Thread
    Aquaview 24" Sand Filter - 1.5 HP Powerline Pump - Barracuda Ranger - Taylor K-2006 - BBB
    Pool School and Pool Calculator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •