Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cloudy Water After 3 Weeks Maintaining Shock Level

1. Back To Top    #1

Cloudy Water After 3 Weeks Maintaining Shock Level

Hi there, I am new to TFP and hope there is some hope for my pool. I have read through every post I can find that pertains to my problem with no avail. I have ordered the FAS-DPD Service Test Kit through Leslie's but it has not arrived yet. Needless to say, I purchased the 6-way test kit available at Wal-Mart because I needed to have a clue where my numbers stand. I know I am not losing FC because my readings are at least 5 (probably more). For 3 weeks I have consistently added 6% bleach to maintain a chlorine level. At least 1 gallon every other day. As of today, I roll up the solar cover and it is still cloudy. I would estimate that I can only see 6-8 inches below the surface. I have vacuumed, backwashed, rinsed, vacuumed to waste. I am so frustrated. Here are my numbers:

Cl 5+
    pH 7.2
    TA 180
    TH 270
    CYA 30+ (I could still see the black dot when the vial was full, it was just starting getting hard to see)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I know the TA has to be lowered, but I'm not sure what order to add chemicals for fear of making it worse.
    18 x 33 JW Titan Above Ground Oval
    Hayward 21" Pro-Series High Rate Sand Filter 1.5 HP

2. Back To Top    #2
    Twin Cities, MN

Re: Cloudy Water After 3 Weeks Maintaining Shock Level

Welcome to tfp, Addey67

You will know more once you get your FAS-DPD FC test, it is hard to do the shocking process without it.
    Have you added cya?
    Do you know your CH level?