Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Have had a Jandy Aquapure 1400 for about 4 years. Love the thing. Went out to the pool last weekend and noticed cloudy water. Checked chlorine level - ZERO. No error codes on Aquapure control panel, but when I go back in the house, I notice a "check Aquapure" on my Jandy AquaLink control box. Go back out to the Aquapure control box and notice the "cell reversing" light is on. Every time I check over the next few days, I have the same thing. No error code on Aquapure, "cell reversing" light on, and "check Aquapure" on my Aqualink. I even rebooted the whole system - no change. Only other thing I can add is that I replaced the Aquapure sensor about two years ago, and the salinity has always read low (when compared to the salt drop kit test I have). About two weeks ago, it started reading below 2000 with test kit showing salinity at 3400. I cleaned the sensor (like I have numerous times) and no change, so I recalibrated the salinity reading to match the test kit at 3400. The problems with being stuck on cell reversing and no chlorine started a few days later. Any thoughts?
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    The cell is probably failing. If it's 4 years old it's close to the end of it's life. It's common to see them read low salt toward the end of life so that's an indicator.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    You're saying the cell is failing, but it's the sensor (which is not part of the cell on an Aquapure) that was reading low salt. If the cell is failing, would not the control box indicate some sort of failure? Cell was working great two weeks ago - no problems whatsoever. One other thing I forgot to mention - the house experienced several short duration power losses during that same two week period. None of them lasted more than a minute. One lasted about a half second. Started having this problem shortly after that, which is why I rebooted the whole system (Aquapure and Aqualink) this morning.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,342

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    You're probably right. Those power dropouts could certainly be the problem.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    I have the Aquapure troubleshooting manual and it lists a bunch of voltages on the controller card I can get readings on. I'll try that next and see if anything pops up. I'm thinking it's probably the controller, but it still could be the cell or the sensor. I wish I could figure out why the AquaLink sees a fault on the Aquapure system, but the Aquapure doesn't.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Mystery solved. Noticed the "no flow" indicator on the control box. It had been showing "wait" most of the time. Removed the sensor and cleaned it for about ten minutes. Had rust on one of the sensor and the seal around it looked slightly deformed. Reinstalled and now works ok, but ordered new sensor - don't think this one will last too long.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Quote Originally Posted by hillyjd
    Mystery solved. Noticed the "no flow" indicator on the control box. It had been showing "wait" most of the time. Removed the sensor and cleaned it for about ten minutes. Had rust on one of the sensor and the seal around it looked slightly deformed. Reinstalled and now works ok, but ordered new sensor - don't think this one will last too long.
    Good. I was going to tell you that if it had rust on it, its done. Make sure your new sensor epoxy is black and has the little board that goes inline of the ribbon cable. If it still stays in reversing, the relay on the back board is probably stuck. and you'll have to replace.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Everything's working normally now (at least for the last 48 hours). Place I ordered the new sensor from said they could not control what color seal I would get (black or white). Part numbers are the same. Hopefully I'll get what you recommend.

    I thought SWG was the official abbreviation for Salt Water Chlorine Generators. At least that's what TFP has as their forum title. Changed my profile to make it clearer.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,637

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Quote Originally Posted by hillyjd
    said they could not control what color seal I would get (black or white).
    Then tell them you can't accept OLD stock, and you will go to another guy. You are wasting your money if you get stuck with a white one. It will (probably) fail.

    SWG= Salt Water Generator. What do you need that for? there is already enough salt in the pool.

    SWCG= Salt Water Chlorine Generator. Thats quite a mouthful.

    I just say "Chlorine generator".
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Were you ever right. New sensor arrived - white epoxy. Even though my old rusted one was working, I installed the new one and it worked fine for two weeks and then totally failed last weekend. Put my old one back in and it's still working (also white epoxy). Seller says he still won't guarantee a black one but he will give me a full refund, so I'm now in search of a new one.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    My new black sensor failed after 2 months of use. Right now I don't trust any sensor that Jandy is putting out. They seem to have nothing but problems since they switched to the three port cell.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Flower Mound, TX
    Posts
    37

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Maybe this is my problem, except I find it hard to believe with a brand new pool. I've had the "No Flow" on for a week (well, I was traveling on business and I think it was that way all week - can't get anyone at home to monitor the pool). I just cleaned the filter, pulled the AquaPure off and cleaned it as well, cleaned the sensor, and still getting "No Flow". Algae is starting to bloom.
    20' x 40' / 33,000 gallon / IG / Vinyl
    200lb sand filter / 1hp pump
    4hrs full sun with about 45 min part sun before and after

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    I've got the old 2-port system and other than the sensor, it's been great. I'm on my 3rd sensor in 4 years.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    119

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Thought I would pass along a few things I learned when I got the new sensor with the black epoxy and the small circuit card on the connector. First thing I learned is that if you have an Aquapure system with a front panel circuit board called an AKC13 board (which I did), you will need an adaptor cable. The connector on the end of the sensor circuit board cannot fit onto the connector on the AKC13 board. Adaptor cable is $10, but that cost me another week waiting for it. Another thing I learned is that the circuit card on the end of the sensor cable is too large to fit through the wiring access hole on the bottom of the control box. I solved this problem by grinding out a small portion of the hole so the card would fit through and then I cut out a 1/4" section of the strain relief fitting and nut so that I could fit the cables through the access hole and put the strain relief fitting on after all wires were through. Worked fine. Last thing I learned is that I neededto replace the PVC tee fitting that the sensor goes into. If you search for the Aquapure part number (AZ009) you can get one for $30-$50 online plus shipping. If you search for a 2x2x1.5 SxSxFIP tee fitting (slip x slip x female), you can find one for $2.15. Ah, the joys of pool ownership.
    16,000 gal in-ground Pebble-tec pool / Pebble-sheen spa. Jandy AquaPure 1400 SW Cl gen (SWG) system. In-floor cleaning system w/ Hayward EcoStar 2.0 HP VSP pump. Hayward 31" sand filter. 900 sq ft Heliocol solar panels (on roof) w/ separate 1 HP Pentair WhisperFlow single speed pump. Water feature with separate Hayward 0.85 HP VSP pump.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Does anyone know whether the new controllers are still being built with reversing relays or have they gone solid state. If solid state, when did they change over. Thanks.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    aiken, SC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    I have a new Jandy Aquapure 3port cell, a new cable, new flow sensor. I continue to see "cell reversing " light and continue to add chlorine. All is ok but why does the cell not produce chlorine?? This is a new $510 cell!!!
    Gary F Marozas

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,942

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Hello Gary and welcome to TFP! This thread was a bit "dated", but your post is relevant so it stayed with the same thread. If you don't get a reply in a day or so, feel free to reply back and this thread again for more activity. Nice to have you with us.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,670

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Which sensor do you have, does it have an option to select A or B program?

    Are there any error codes displayed? It might take some time for them to be displayed.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    aiken, SC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    No error code and flow sensor does not have an A or B program.
    Does the three prong cable orientation make a difference? I unplugged it yesterday and turned it 180 degrees and no lights at all and when I turned it back, the "cell reversing" light came back on. I have yet to see the "cell on" light.
    Gary F Marozas

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    aiken, SC
    Posts
    4

    Re: Jandy Aquapure 1400 stuck on "cell reversing"

    Just looked once again and there is only one light on, it's the "power on" light. All other lights are off on my Model APUREM AquaPure control panel.IMG_0992.JPGIMG_0991.JPGIMG_0993.jpg
    Gary F Marozas

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •