Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Am I on the right track?

1. Back To Top    #1

Am I on the right track?

Hi. Just got an EZ Set Intex pool last week. I followed TroubleFreePool's Beginner's Guide for Seasonal/Temporary Pools (THANK YOU for that!). I am new to all of this and don't really know anyone with a pool so I'm asking you all if I am on the right track.

Pool was filled on Sunday. 15'x48" Approx. 3800 gallons. Daughter eager to swim so I put in a bottle of Clorox. This was BEFORE I found TroubleFreePool.com

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday - I added Dichlor. 8oz, diluted in bucket of pool water and then added to pool.

Here's where my tests are tonight:
    FC: 5
    CC: did not test for
    pH: less than 7.0
    TA: 90
    CH: 130
    CYA: less than 30
    water looks clear to me ?????

I'm basically concerned about pH and CYA levels. I have NO IDEA what to do to raise the pH. I diluted 4oz. of dichlor tonight in a bucket of pool water and then added it to the pool. Pump is running as we speak.

Oh, I've also added 6 oz. of Polyquat 60 for alge prevention.

So, am I on the right track? What do I need to do to achieve more "perfect" numbers? Thanks! This website is SUCH A HUGE HELP!!!!!

Michele
    EZ Set Intex 15'x48" approx. 3800 gallons
    Intex Krystal Clear Cartridge Filter Pump model 637R/56637E 1,000 GPH
    Michele
    Intex EZ Set 15'x48"
    approx. 3800 gallons
    Krystal Clear Cartridge Filter Pump | 1,000 GPH

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Am I on the right track?

Yes, you are on the right track. That said, a few things to do.

1. Buy some borax (20 Mule Team, in the laundry aisle of any grocery/big box store). Use enough to get it above 7.0, pronto. Aim for 7.2, that way if you overshoot, you're still good. If you undershoot, add some more.

2. Add enough cyanuric acid, aka stabilizer, to bring your CYA level up to 30. CYA is easy to add, but difficult to lower, so start slow.

Welcome to TFP!