Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School

Thread: Water turns green after adding chlorine

Water turns green after adding chlorine

Hi all ... I have been doing BBB for several years now with great success. This is the first year I've run into this kind of problem and am seeking a little help. My pool water is crystal clear, but when I add bleach (using the regular household 6% variety) my water turns a nice shade of green -- well, more like green-blue.

Here are my most recent test results:

FC 3
    CC 0.5
    CH 200
    CYA 60
    TA 100
    PH 7.4

I ran a sample to the pool store to test for metals, because I don't currently have those test kits available. Anyway, my copper and iron levels were 0. Total dissolved solids (whatever that means) came out to 1100. Phosphates were 300 (high according to the pool store), but I understand that test doesn't really mean a whole lot, if I am not mistaken.

I was doing some searching on the forums, and I saw one post that suggested pool store tests for metals are not very accurate. I also saw a suggestion that these types of situations require the use of a sequestrant. I have NO idea what that is. This is where I am seeking the most help, I think.

I also discovered a few days ago that the metal ring around my pool light looks a bit corroded. Perhaps rust? I haven't been able to get underwater to fully investigate, but I am wondering if this is culprit for the green water. My husband said the metal ring is too small to make a significant change like that, but I am not so sure. We also had a slight accident in the spring when some of the rain water from the top of the cover spilled over and mixed in with the pool water. Don't know if that means anything, but I'm throwing that out there, too.