Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    We have one of the little Intex SWG (Pre-copper) that has worked great in the past, but this year seems something might be wrong. It has been running for about a week from 12-24 hours a day - green light has been on indicating it is producing chlorine. The problem comes when testing the levels - they basically don't exist. The little chlorine/ph combo one is pretty much clear and using the test with the TF100 the water doesn't really even turn pink until I rinse out the tube (nasty to think about).

    So is there a way to tell if this thing is actually producing anything? I thought I remember before that it made bubbles. I know at one point there was chlorine since the combo test was bright yellow, but that was before adding CYA to the pool and it has been very hot so I'm unsure if it just hasn't been able to keep up. I do have a spare unit, but since it is the less efficient copper model I'd hate to use that.

    Ideas?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Take a water sample directly from the water return and use the OTO test again.

    It may be working, but not able to keep up with something living in the pool.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    I just added another thing of CYA a few minutes ago - will that throw things off at all?

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    No. Should be fine to test for FC.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    No, it might help.

    It would help us answer your questions if you get and post a complete set of water test results. If you don't have a test kit, most pool stores will do testing for you.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Right now
    FC 0
    CC 0
    TC 0
    Ph 7.5
    TA 120
    CYA Assume 0 (Very little left to test with until the last I added has dissolved)
    Salt 5400

    Just checked and of course the SWG is saying low salt and not running, which makes no sense since it was fine an hour ago before cycling the power.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Is that salt level right? How high does the Intex SWG want the salt level?

    Is there a chance that it really is that high (too high) and the SWG has burned itself up because it does not have a safety switch? {I am asking, I have no idea}
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    You are losing all of your chlorine to sunlight because your CYA level is too low. You should raise CYA to between 70 and 80. Until you can finish bringing the CYA level up you need to add chlorine manually in the evenings.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    I just did the test before posting - levels are up a lot from a few days ago and salt hasn't been added in a week.

    If it detects too much salt it would report high salt, which would be more appropriate. I hate to have to remove the connectors to pop in the other machine, but might have to at this point. Might try cleaning the cell as a last resort, but maybe it will kick back in and I can test the water at the jet.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Okay, lesson learned - test pool before adding salt. Totally forgot salt doesn't just disappear and since the thing kept saying low salt... changed out the new swg and of course high salt. Currently draining the pool and will have to suck up the cost of all the cya and other chems I recently added.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Okay, after having to do a drain/refill twice and wasting another thing of CYA the thing is back and going.

    Now the question is how long should it take to get good chlorine levels? It has been running about 24 hours so far and here are the new numbers

    FC - 2
    CC - .5
    PH - 7.5/7.8
    TA - 110
    CH - Went up to 600 and still nothing was showing, not sure what that means
    CYA - 50/60
    Salt 4000 (still a little high)

  12. Back To Top    #12
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    On the CH test, what do you mean that "nothing was showing"? If the sample remains clear after adding the dye your reagents have gone bad.

    You are making good progress. You have an FC level, which is really good. If you just added CYA, give it a full week to finish dissolving before testing and adding more as needed to get up to the 70 to 80 range. Once CYA is at a good level you can try adjusting the run time on the SWG to adjust the FC level.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Intex SWG running, but no chlorine?

    Right, it was still clear. The test kit is barely a year old so I figured I'd at least get more than two months use from it.

    Last year when I first got the kit my levels were apparently in the high teens so I have no idea if I had done a normal shock before starting with the salt - might have to try and find my posts from this time last year.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •