Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SWG vs Bleach?

1. Back To Top    #1

SWG vs Bleach?

seems like a SWG would be cheaper vs bleach? and you don't have to lug bleach bottles around, but i'm new to all these, what do you experts way in at?

SWG vs Bleach? + and -'s of each?
    15,000 gallon inground fiberglass pool with spa. 350lb Sand filter, 1.5 hp pump, and heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: SWG vs Bleach?

Well they might be, a lot depends on how long they last, cost of replacement plates, etc. Bleach is at least predictable, once you know your demand and the local market cost, you can calculate expenses at a fairly accurate rate of a few dollars per week, but with an SWG you have that several hundred dollar initial expense for equipment, plus the cost of what may be several hundreds if not thousands of pounds of salt (and all the hauling dumping and stiring that is involved), then you get to wait for something to break, and hope it happens under warranty, if not under warranty at least hope repair parts are still available.

Ike
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

3. Back To Top    #3

On the average residential pool the costs come out about the same. But in a specific pool it can end up tilting either way depending on which SWG you get, plus many other small factors, and some luck. As a general rule, SWGs are a better deal if your pool uses a lot of chlorine (larger pool, open more of the year), and not as good if your pool uses less chlorine (smaller pool, not open all that long each year).