Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: compupool cpsc36 problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    compupool cpsc36 problem

    It was installed and all water chemistry is just about perfect. However all lights are on and it doesn't seem to generating chlorine. I had to convert it to 110v and that was not a problem. I saw a post from poolsupplyworld that when you convert to 110 sometimes the internal fuse has to switched. I called compupool but high call volume led to me having to hang up after 45 min.
    If the fuse was bad would the control board still work, but not generate chlorine,or would the whole unit be non functional?
    Thanks
    Rich
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Have you tried powering it down and then back up again? This will probably require turning it off at the circuit breaker.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    How did you determine it wasn't generating?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    I know from experience that if that fuse is blown, it won't power up at all.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    According to the tftest chlorine on Saturday was .5
    I had my dad add bleach according to the pool calculator. Brought it up to 4
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    I did power off completely from breaker and nothing. Increased the percentage from 50 to 60% running from 12 noon to 7 pm, and still hardly any chlorine is registering on the tests until I have him add bleach. I also checked the flow through the cell and it is good. No air reeally good flow.
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  7. Back To Top    #7
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Hello,
    You did switch your internal wiring from 230 volts to 115 volts?
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by lungs414
    I had to convert it to 110v and that was not a problem. I saw a post from poolsupplyworld that when you convert to 110 sometimes the internal fuse has to switched.
    He did.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Bobo one of the factors in my decision to buy this unit is your reviews. Can you tell me your settings including the pump. Alos what are your general FC numbers based on those settings?

    Thanks
    Rich
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  10. Back To Top    #10
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Hello lungs,
    My setup is for 115V, my pump is a 3/4 hp Sta-rite Dura-max, they run off an Intermatic 101 timer, both are wired to the timer and both come on at the same time. I'm running about 5-6 hours at 80% and maintaining FC at 3-4. My salt level is a little high at 4500 or so, but no indicators. My pool is 17K and 83 deg. I've got the CPSC48. The units use the same power supply. You may want to reset the salt table. I have normally run a slightly negative CSI, and have not yet had to clean my cell. When the unit is running, I do see lots of bubbles in the cell housing. The power supply/heat sink does get quite warm/hot.
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Thanks for reply. What is resetting the salt table ? Why and how do you do it? The salt level is 4300 according to the unit. It was on for about 7 hours at 50% and had .5 FC. Bumped to 60% and no change. It is wired exactly the same, and after about five minutes little to no air bubbles in the cell. On my pool I have a Jandy 1400 aquapure and it has a variable speed pump that runs at different speeds for about 18 hours per day and the percentage was just turned down to 25 % because the FC was consistently 8-9 @ 35%. Thats why I asked what your settings are maybe it needs to be 80%. I'll have them put that in and see what happens.
    One more quick question on your unit when you see 80% do you see 8 bars under the percentage number, because on my dads at 60% it only shows 2 bars on his.

    Thanks for the info

    Rich
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  12. Back To Top    #12
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Hello Rich,
    Yes, I get 8 bars. I'm wondering if you're unit is shutting down because of low water flow? I realize they don't have a flow switch on them, but they do sense flow. And wondering if the flow is below the minimum threshold. It's not listed in the manual so I don't know what it is. PM me your email address and I can send you the instructions for resetting the salt table.
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    I recently installed a CPSC 36 and am having the same problems as the OP. Quick question though - how do you determine the salt level measured by the unit?

    I ordered the Taylor salt test yesterday from tft and will test my salt level as soon as it arrives.
    ~26000 gal gunite with steel walls (aka "hybrid"), sta-rite sand filter - T-200-BP1, 3/4hp Pentair Whisperflo pump, figure-8 shaped pool, polaris 380 and booster pump, borates, Compupool CPSC 36 SWCG.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    I think you keep pressing the select button to get the salt reading
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    I recently installed one. When the readout shows only one or two bars, you need a new LCD readout. The bars don't change no matter what it is set on. That is what happened to me. Customer service will send one out and it is a fairly easy install. They require that you send the old one back.
    16K IG vinyl liner - 2.5 HP Hayward Pump - Hayward Sand Filter - CircuPool Si 30 SWG

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Thanks for the info. But does that prevent it from producing chlorine?
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    31

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    "All lights on" is not normal.

    You can tell if its generating by looking for small bubbles coming off the outlet side of the cell plates (look through the clear cell housing). If you crank it up to 100% (and its actually producing at 100%), the Cl bubbles will be very obvious.

    If the unit is stuck on 2 bars (20%), it may be more difficult to see the bubbles. Either way, I think your going to need to contact cs. Aside from your comment about their call volume, they were very helpful for me.
    24000 gal vinyl IG; CPSC36 SWG, TA-60 Sand Filter

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Don't mean to hijack, but I called compupool re: my apparently inoperative cell (same symptoms as OP) and they are sending me a new cell and control board. Hopefully it will be here next week sometime.
    ~26000 gal gunite with steel walls (aka "hybrid"), sta-rite sand filter - T-200-BP1, 3/4hp Pentair Whisperflo pump, figure-8 shaped pool, polaris 380 and booster pump, borates, Compupool CPSC 36 SWCG.

  19. Back To Top    #19
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Glad they're taking care of it.
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Eastern Long Island,New York
    Posts
    82

    Re: compupool cpsc36 problem

    Finally had time to talk with compupool customer service. Very nice and new the problem before I finished describing it. They are shipping a new LCD screen just as Ndenunz wrote. I wonder if it is a common issue with these units. Does anyone know if this also inhibits the unit from producing chlorine?
    Thanks
    Rich
    20 X 40 Vinyl IG 28K gallons, Heat Siphon Z700HP, Hayward 4820 DE, Hayward SP3400VSP, Jandy aquapure 1400, TFTest Kit, Pool School, Pool Calculator

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •