Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Soda Blasting material as a cheap source of baking soda

1. Back To Top    #1

Soda Blasting material as a cheap source of baking soda

I'm just getting started with my first pool and intend to follow the BBB method. I searched around but haven't found anyone talking about purchasing baking soda used for soda blasters instead of arm & hammer boxes at the grocery store. I happen to have a soda blaster and I purchase 30lb bags for about $30 from harbor freight. As far as I know, this is straight up sodium bicarbonate, so it seems to me like it should be fine. I wouldn't bake a cake with it, but is there any reason not to use it in my pool?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Soda Blasting material as a cheap source of baking soda

The MSDS doesn't say exactly what it is. It seems to be primarily baking soda, but what is "Proprietary Sodium Bicarbonate Based Mixture - Sodium Bicarbonate"? There may be some binder in there...

I guess you'll get to be the guinea pig.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

I've seen baking soda in the grocery store for half that price (on sale).
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4