Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pressure Gauge?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    StevethePirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    West Georgia
    Posts
    4

    Pressure Gauge?

    First off, I Love the site. A lot of fantastic info and I've learned quite a bit on what I may be doing wrong. I'm definitely going to get on the BBB method next season.

    Anyway, I'm wondering if you use a well pump pressure gauge for a pool pump? The reason I ask is that I've purchased one two different times to replace my current gauge that isn't getting a reading. I took the first replacement back b/c I thought it was defective, but the second isn't getting a reading either. So I'm wondering if it is the gauge type, or is there something in my lines that would prevent the gauge from getting a reading. The flow is strong and everything seems to be pumping fine.
    16' X 32' 8 ft deep end 21K Gallons?
    Jacuzzi Sand Filter
    IG
    Vinyl
    1.5 HP Jacuzzi Pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    Pool company branded gauges are notoriously bad, a well pump gauge should work, in general any gauge in the right pressure range rated WAG (water, air, gas) will work.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    Have to ask ... why wait until next season to start?

    The BBB method is really just about understanding your water chemistry and only adding chemicals that your pool NEEDS, thus saving money over what a pool store wants to sell you.

    You can be on the BBB method and use any form of sanitation you want ... you just have to understand what you are adding and why.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    StevethePirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    West Georgia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    Well my CYA is sky high as in my Taylor kit only goes to 100 ppm and my water level in the test tube is a quarter inch below that, so I would have to replace at least 60% of my water. My pool only gets partial sun so it would be a few weeks before my water temp gets back to 80+, which is the minimum for my wife to get in. Plus I've already got around 50# of granular shock since I stocked up before I found this site.

    I got bad advice when I bought my house, the guy just told me to brush and vacuum once a week and use granular shock, 2#s a week and if you see algae start to creep up, shock it, brush and run the pump until you don't see it anymore. I'll admit, I've never really had and clarity problems using this method, but I'm constantly fighting light algae blooms and I go through about 100#s of shock a season.
    16' X 32' 8 ft deep end 21K Gallons?
    Jacuzzi Sand Filter
    IG
    Vinyl
    1.5 HP Jacuzzi Pump

  5. Back To Top    #5
    StevethePirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    West Georgia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    Quote Originally Posted by Isaac-1
    Pool company branded gauges are notoriously bad, a well pump gauge should work, in general any gauge in the right pressure range rated WAG (water, air, gas) will work.
    Thanks for the reply. Why do you think 2 well pump gauges aren't giving a reading then? Maybe a bad batch from home depot? Is there something that could be happening that lets the water flow fine, but not give a pressure reading?
    16' X 32' 8 ft deep end 21K Gallons?
    Jacuzzi Sand Filter
    IG
    Vinyl
    1.5 HP Jacuzzi Pump

  6. Back To Top    #6
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    It seems unlikely that the port to your gauge would be blocked. This is probably a bad idea but if you take off the gauge turn on the pump and water shoots out then your gauge is bad.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    StevethePirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    West Georgia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pressure Gauge?

    Thanks for the help ya'll. Turns out I was tightening the new gauge too much, if I would have read the label on the pump that said " hand tighten plus 1/4 turn" I could have saved us all some time...
    16' X 32' 8 ft deep end 21K Gallons?
    Jacuzzi Sand Filter
    IG
    Vinyl
    1.5 HP Jacuzzi Pump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •