Center drain clogged?

May 31, 2012
Hi there!

I'm completely new to the arena of pool ownership - we bought a house last fall with a 27' above ground pool. We have a cartridge filter. Unfortunately, when we got the cover off of the pool, we dumped in what I thought was a small amount of pine needles and sludge, but turned out to be a HUGE amount. I've vacuumed some out, but now there is a nice black clump right in the middle of the pool that I can't reach with the vacuum. I also don't feel like I'm getting good suction on the vacuum through the skimmer as I once was.

Is there any way to do this other than to get in the freezing (we're in upstate NY) pool and actually vacuum it out? And, why does the suction, well, suck? :) Do I need to clean out the whole filter?

And one last newbie question - the filter basket (the first line of defense in the filter) - is there any reasonable way to clean that out without spraying water all over yourself and the lawn? I've tried shutting the valve to the center drain so that less water is coming in, but it still sprays all over. Any other ideas?

Thanks for any help you can offer!!

Kelly

Welcome to TFP!

I'd say it is time to clean the cartridge. Maybe buy a spare and swap so you can take your time cleaning the other.

Everything I've read says that you only have to clean the cartridge when the PSI rises . . . mine is steadily at 12. But I'm seriously getting NO suction, as in, there is a ton of Crud in the bottom of my pool, and nothing coming through to either filter basket (skimmer or filter). I just went out and used our pole skimmer with a net to get a bunch of crud out of the center (leaves, etc.). Still no suction. ARGH this is harder than I thought it would be! :)

oooh good idea. I'll try that tomorrow (it's getting dark now!). Do you have any experience with a center drain? It's sucking all the leaves down to the bottom and I'm assuming that's why I'm not getting any suction there. Does that sound right?