Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    Brand new, inexperienced pool owner here - just learning about all the new equipment at our newly purchased house. Was checking out the pump and noticed some leaves in the filter basket so I opened the cap on the filter basket which released the pressure and all the water starting draining down. Pressure gauge on filter reads 0 now. I've closed and sealed the window/cap to filter basket now. When the pump starts up again (it's on a circuit) will I have caused some damage by letting air in and pressure down the pipes?

    Sorry to sound so ignorant.
    thanks
    12,000G, Cartridge, IG-Plaster, Pentair easytouch 8, Intelliflo VS 3050, Intellichlor IC40, Safe-T 3 cover-pool

  2. Back To Top    #2
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    It should be fine. Do you have an inground or above ground pool. If it is an inground, most likely the pump is self-priming so put the lid back on and start the pump and see if it primes and starts pumping water out of a pool return. If it is an above ground, leave the lid off until the basket fills then put it back on and start the pump.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Greentown, IN
    Posts
    914

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    A little bit of occasional air in the system shouldn't be a problem. I wouldn't do it all the time or let it get air for long, but you should be fine.

    That being said.. If your vacuum uses the skimmer or pools suction, when you hook up your vacuum hold the hose to the return jet to fill it with water prior to hooking it to the skimmer, that way your pump doesn't get a hose full of air.
    Indiana, ABG 24'x52" Galveston by Blue Cascade (Craigslist buy w/part of deck included), 13,500 gallons, Intex SWG, solar panels mix 2, TF-100 test kit.

    Test kits compared
    Purchase test kits

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    87

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    I'm having a similar problem too. Pool store opened the pool last week and I felt like I had more suction during vacuuming right after the opening. I didn't know I had to connect my hose to a disk then put it in the skimmer. I just took the skimmer basket out and plugged the hose after filling it with water into the port at the bottom of the skimmer. The second time I vacuumed it don't feel like port at the bottom of the skimmer grabbed the hose like it did the first time.


    I have been running the pump overnight and during the day I empty the baskets and the water does sound like it drains from the plumbing. I pour some water into the pump to help start the prime but most of the time it runs down the plumbing. Once I start the pump it takes maybe a minute or less to prime.

    I don't have much suction at the skimmer. I always see debris floating around above the skimmer which I would assume should be pulled down and caught in the basket. There is some debris in the basket but I would expect more.

    The sand filter pressure had risen since opening and I have backwashed it. Jumped from about 14PSI to just above 20 so I backwashed it and now it is back down to 14PSI.

    When the pool store opens a pool are they supposed to open the release valve on the filter to let air out? I never saw them do that. I have done that and air comes out and a little water which seems like it was a little foaming like water/air mixture.

    Thanks
    18600 Gallon In Ground
    Vinyl liner
    Aqua Genie Skimmer/Return
    Purex Triton Challenger wet end with Emerson 2EZ Speed Two-Speed with Timer Motor 3/4HP #EB2980T
    Sta-Rite 145361 Cristal-Flo II High-Rate Sand Filter 22Inch
    Taylor K-2006

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    Ewok500,

    What happened to you is perfectly normal...you lost "prime"

    As long as the water refills into the pump basket whenyou turn the pump back on (even it takes a minute or two) everything is fine and to be expected.

    Stew930,

    Once I start the pump it takes maybe a minute or less to prime.
    That's perfectly normal.

    With the pump running and after it has primed, can you still see air bubbles in the pump basket?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    87

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    I can see some bubbles but it just looks like a torrent of water through the pump basket.
    18600 Gallon In Ground
    Vinyl liner
    Aqua Genie Skimmer/Return
    Purex Triton Challenger wet end with Emerson 2EZ Speed Two-Speed with Timer Motor 3/4HP #EB2980T
    Sta-Rite 145361 Cristal-Flo II High-Rate Sand Filter 22Inch
    Taylor K-2006

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,082

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    Stew930,

    You have a suction side air leak. Start a new thread so we can respond and help you and then help Ewok seperately.

    Simply say that there is a torrent of water in your pump basket and that your suction is not as strong. I or someone will answer and help you get it fixed.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Lost pressure - have I screwed up?

    Thank you all for the quick response. yes - the pump self primes. There were a few bubbles in the filter window this morning but now that it's been running a few hours they've all been pushed out.
    12,000G, Cartridge, IG-Plaster, Pentair easytouch 8, Intelliflo VS 3050, Intellichlor IC40, Safe-T 3 cover-pool

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •