Feeling a shock when touching ground

Navywife

LifeTime Supporter
May 6, 2012
Summerville, SC
Hi all, I am a newbie here and have my first real issue that's perplexing.

We bought this house in dec 2011 and the pool really needed a bit of work, new liner, light ring, etc and we added a SWG (pentair IC40). Now since we bought in winter we hadn't swam in the pool until April but we are noticing that when you are in the water and have a cut on your hand and touch either the handrail or the cool deck you feel a small sting of voltage, enough for the kids to say ouch. (not so much if you don't have a cut). This had gone away since April but recently the salt was getting low so I added a bag and we are back to stinging again. I know salt is a conductor but I just don't know what to make of this.

I had an electrician out and he wasn't able to feel it, though he didn't use any meter or anything (he was going to email me a price quote but didn't get back to me) and I talked to our neighbor and he said the previous owner had reground the pool himself and that he was an electrician. I asked if they had been in there and if they ever felt anything and he said no, it was normal.

Has anyone had a similar problem? I had my husband recheck the wiring and he Said it looks right, though he is not an electrician. The electrician that did come out said in order to reground the concrete would have to be torn up and re poured after the grounding wires were redone.

The only other thing that we did was to remove the diving board (u bolt type). The bottoms of the u bolts were left in the ground and covered with concrete, I also wonder if that could have anything to do with it, though we had a pool professional remove the board, but anything is possible I suppose. I just want it to be safe for my family. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.