Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Plaster Vacuum - Newbie Question

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    100

    Plaster Vacuum - Newbie Question

    We have a plaster vacuum and a long hose that is brand new. We've attached the long handle to the vacuum and plugged in the hose into the holes that go down to our filters and return to the pump. we have a system where we have 2 filters at the end of the pool and the return water goes down into the two holes and through the filters and return back to the pump. There is no suction on the end of the vacuum and we even turned on the booster pump to see if that would make any difference, which it did not. How does this thing work? I couldn't find operations in the pool school. Thanks so much for any help!
    IG Gunnite Pool Size: 25K gallons (20 x 40, 3'6" to 6" depth) with 2 huge Baker Hydro cartridge filters under the skimmer baskets on the suction side, 2 mech timers
    BRAND NEW PLASTER! Quartzscapes/Diamondbrite, Newer Polaris 280, Brand New Hayward Maxflo VS, Brand New Pentair Intelichlor
    I will conquer the black algae this pool season!!!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Plaster Vacuum - Newbie Question

    Did you fill the hose completely with water before attaching it to the skimmer?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    653

    Re: Plaster Vacuum - Newbie Question

    If you have two skimmers, and you are plugging the hose into one, you will need to shut off the other either by a valve at the pad--the usual way--or by putting a plug in the hole in the bottom. Otherwise, the filter will mainly draw from the one without the hose. Also, if you have a line to a floor drain, that should be closed as well. There will be a valve for that. Then do as Jason suggests to fill the hose with water. That should do it.
    Current: 28,000G 18'x36' I/G AnthonySylvan Plaster; Waterway 60 sq.ft. DE Filter; 1.0hp x 1.65 SF Two-Speed (B2982) WhisperFlo; 2004-Present
    Previous: 40,000G 20'x40' I/G Koven unlined WWII salvage 5/8" marine steel; Lomart Stainless Sand Filter; 3/4hp Hayward SuperPump; 1946-2003 (managed by me from about 1964)
    Ancient Taylor K-2000, upgraded with Taylor CH, TA, and FAS-DPD, and TFT CYA tests.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    100

    Re: Plaster Vacuum - Newbie Question

    Hmm. We did not do any of those things. We will fill hose with water prior to attaching AND try to cover one of the holes with something...ThoughI am not sure what I am going to use to plug it. Will get back to you when I figure it out. Thanks!
    IG Gunnite Pool Size: 25K gallons (20 x 40, 3'6" to 6" depth) with 2 huge Baker Hydro cartridge filters under the skimmer baskets on the suction side, 2 mech timers
    BRAND NEW PLASTER! Quartzscapes/Diamondbrite, Newer Polaris 280, Brand New Hayward Maxflo VS, Brand New Pentair Intelichlor
    I will conquer the black algae this pool season!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •